Foreign Law (Laws of Other Countries)

Legislation as well as decisions of various South African courts.

Full text of Acts, bills, draft bills, notices, white papers, and documents issued for public comment going back to 1991.

Contains current "in force" and consolidated (as amended) Acts of Parliament, point-in-time and historic texts of Acts, plus regulations. Acts and regulations are PDF and constantly updated. Regulations not in full text may be requested. The project is the work of the Oliver R. Tambo Law Library, University of Pretoria, in partnership with the Southern African Legal Information Institute (SAFLII) and the Constitutional Court. The database is a work in progress and does not contain all Acts yet.

Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of South Africa. Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.

World Intellectual Property Organization - search national laws and treaties on intellectual property law.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - database of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources.

International Labour Organization- database of national laws on labor, social security, and related human rights.

Operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP - database of national environmental laws.

Jutastat is a subscription database. USD does not subscribe but free trials may be available.

Cases 1999-date.

Full text database of all Constitutional Court cases. Documents available for viewing, printing or downloading include full judgments, summaries of judgments highlighting the main questions of law decided in each case as well as heads of argument, pleadings and documents. It includes information about the Court's history, its role and work, landmark judgments and the constitution-making process.

Provides a wide variety of legal links on South Africa, i.e. government, court, academic and NGO websites relating to South African law.

Online entries date back to 1942. The database contains indexed articles from more than 680 South African periodicals.

Butterworths South African Constitutional Law Reports, Butterworths Statutes of South Africa, extensive news and financial publications.

Constitutional Law of South Africa (treatise)

Finding guide for foreign statutes by subject and case reporters; references to English translations where available.

Originally published in 2005, updated 2018.

Library of Congress research guide with links to relevant legislative, executive, and judicial branch databases.

Guide to the official citation of South African cases and statutes. Helpful listing of official internet sources.