Foreign Law (Laws of Other Countries)

Government portal to French law: provides access to the constitution; codes (some translated into English); official gazettes since 1990; treaties; recent decisions from the Cour de cassation, Conseil d’État, and Conseil constitutionnel; and links to European laws.

Authenticated electronic official gazette publishes the laws and regulations of the French Republic.

World Intellectual Property Organization - search national laws and treaties on intellectual property law.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - database of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources.

International Labour Organization - database of national laws on labor, social security, and related human rights.

Operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP - database of national environmental laws.

Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of France. Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.

Includes English translations of legal materials in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law.

Contains English translations of France's constitution, criminal code, code of criminal procedure, and a variety of human rights-oriented legislation.

Database contains all legal news and has an excellent legal dictionary (glossaire juridique).

See full text Decisions du Conseil Constitutionnel (Constitutional Council) as well as the doctrine involved. Constitutional cases in English in relevant areas such as treaties and international agreements, EU, abortion, human rights, etc.

Contains English translations of the Civil and Commercial Codes.

Doing Business in France (treatise), news, and financial publications.

Finding guide for foreign statutes by subject and case reporters; references to English translations where available.

Originally published in 2005, updated in 2017.

Library of Congress research guide with links to relevant legislative, executive, and judicial branch databases.

Guide to the official citation of French cases and statutes. Helpful listing of official internet sources.