Foreign Law (Laws of Other Countries)

The Brazilian Legal and Legislative Information Portal provides immediate access to several sources of Brazilian legislative and juridical information.

Includes jurisprudence, legislation, and legal news. Vernacular.

Website of the Brazilian Presidency that provides free access to the Constitution, laws, codes, statutes, provisional measures, decrees, and historical legislation.

Website of the Brazilian Federal Senate that provides free access to laws and bills and is searchable by topic. Has a built-in thesaurus (WEBTHES) to help find equivalents to legal terms and concepts

Website of the Brazilian Chamber of Deputies that provides free access to laws and bills and is searchable by topic. Historical laws (to 1808) and previous versions of the Constitution also available on the Brazilian Chamber of Deputies website.

The project aims to create a completely refurbished collection of jurisprudence, doctrine, legislation, and theses.

World Intellectual Property Organization - search national laws and treaties on intellectual property law.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - database of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources.

International Labour Organization - database of national laws on labor, social security, and related human rights.

Operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP - database of national environmental laws.

Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of Brazil. Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.

Official court portal to the case law of a variety of Federal tribunals.

The Supreme Federal Court is the supreme court (court of last resort) of Brazil, serving primarily as the Constitutional Court of the country.

Lex Mundi's Guide to Doing Business in Brazil and extensive news publications.

Finding guide for foreign statutes by subject and case reporters; references to English translations where available.

Originally published in 2005, updated in 2015.

Library of Congress research guide with links to relevant legislative, executive, and judicial branch databases.

Guide to the official citation of Brazilian cases and statutes. Helpful listing of official internet sources.