Foreign Law (Laws of Other Countries)

National Printing Bureau.

Official gazette from 1883 through 1952, and in English from 1946 through 1952.

Japanese Law Translation Database System in English (JLT DS) Ministry of Justice: Constitution, statutes, regulations, orders, ordinances, and notifications.

Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of Japan. Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.

World Intellectual Property Organization - search national laws and treaties on intellectual property law.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - database of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources.

International Labour Organization- database of national laws on labor, social security, and related human rights.

Operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP - database of national environmental laws.

Links to laws in Japanese and English.

Cases in Japanese and English.

Cases from all courts under the Constitution of 1946.

Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, National Institute of Informatics. CiNii Articles searches the journals in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database, with some full text available. CiNii Books searches books and journals held by university libraries in Japan.

Full text Japanese Copyright law in English.

Research and links to English resources on Japanese finance, economy, politics and law.

Includes non-law materials. Under No registered user ID, click on Use only search function (Guest Login--no full-text). The Articles tab allows searching in the journals indexed by the Japanese Periodicals Index. Advanced Search searches various types of publications, including books, articles, journals, and newspapers.

Doing Business in Japan (treatise) and news publications.

Finding guide for foreign statutes by subject and case reporters; references to English translations where available.

Originally published in 2005, updated 2015.

Library of Congress research guide with links to relevant legislative, executive, and judicial branch databases.

University of Washington by Rob Britt (Basic Materials for , Finding Articles in Journals, Newspapers, and Edited Volumes, Finding Laws, Finding Cases, etc. in English and Japanese)

Guide to the official citation of Japanese cases and statutes. Helpful listing of official internet sources.