Foreign Law (Laws of Other Countries)

While there is no single source that one can recommend for the official texts of all German laws and ordinances, probably the best and easiest to use is this joint effort between Juris, GmbH, and the Bundesministerium der Justiz. Contains the consolidated and up-to-date, Penal Code, Civil Code, Code of Civil Procedure, and Criminal Code. Click Aktualitätendienst for a list of recent amendments.

Contains a great number of primary legal resources, including the Federal Law Gazette (Bundesgesetzblatt). Contains Federal and State legislation including preparatory documents. To find full text materials, go to "Dokumente" and "Bund." From the drop down menu Institution select "Bundesregierung" and from the Gesetzblatt menu select the publication you are looking for (Ex. Bundesgesetzblatt Teil I). Enter the year in the field for Jahr (year). You will get a list of issues; click on the page number you want, and get the document.

Part I is free. Part II is free after registration.

Includes English translations of legal materials in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law.

CGerLI is the gateway to German law in English. This website offers a comprehensive and freely accessible database of electronic materials on German law. It brings together English translations of court decisions, legislation, articles and other law-related documents.

Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of Germany. Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.

World Intellectual Property Organization - search national laws and treaties on intellectual property law.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - database of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources.

International Labour Organization - database of national laws on labor, social security, and related human rights.

Operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP - database of national environmental laws.

Contains English translations of Germany's constitution, criminal code, code of criminal procedure, and a variety of human rights-oriented legislation.

HTML full text of all decisions since 1 Jan 1998, also available in English. Available in print in the LRC Reading Room KK5466.5 .B862. Library has: v.1 (1951)-126 (2011).

Online portal of the Federal Court of Justice contains judgments from 2000-present in German. In print, Federal Court of Justice decisions are reported in one of four reporters. Cite civil matters to BGHZ or RGZ, and criminal matters to BGHSt or RGSt. The LRC owns Entscheidungen des Bundesgerichtshofes in Strafsachen (BGHSt) which is available in the LRC Reading Room at KK7980.3.B86 G4. Library has v.1 (1950) -58 (2014).

Full text of all decisions since January 1, 1998.

Der Juristische Fachverlag für Praktiker. Recent Supreme Court cases and other courts cases.

Extensive news and financial publications.

Business Laws.

Finding guide for foreign statutes by subject and case reporters; references to English translations where available.

Originally published in 2008, updated in 2017.

Library of Congress research guide with links to relevant legislative, executive, and judicial branch databases.

Guide to the official citation of German cases and statutes. Helpful listing of official internet sources.