Foreign Law (Laws of Other Countries)

The Legislation section of the GlobaLex guide (listed in the Research Guides box on this page) describes the latest two compilations of Nigerian laws, one in 1990 covering through January 1990, and the second in 2004, covering through December 2002. This ICFNL page has an alphabetical list of the enactments and subsidiary legislation made from 1990 to December 31, 2000, that are still in force, plus annual pages listing new laws for 1990 through 2006 and for 2011, with full text for some of the laws. As described in the GlobaLex guide, Nigerian law also includes some English law, laws of Nigerian states, customary law, ethnic/non-Moslem law, Islamic/Moslim/Sharia law,and judicial precedents.

This list of the laws contains links to full text for a few of them.

Acts, bills, Hansard (reports), notice papers, votes and proceedings, and order papers.

World Intellectual Property Organization - search national laws and treaties on intellectual property law.

International Labour Organization- database of national laws on labor, social security, and related human rights.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - database of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources.

Operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP - database of national environmental laws.

Judgments from 1963 to date, with a search engine. NOTE: The guides listed in the Research Guides box on this page provide the titles of various published case reporters for Nigeria.

Includes judgments.

News publications.

Finding guide for foreign statutes by subject and case reporters; references to English translations where available.

Originally published in 2005, updated in 2015.

Library of Congress research guide with links to relevant legislative, executive, and judicial branch databases.

Guide to the official citation of Nigerian cases and statutes. Helpful listing of official internet sources.

By Heather Memess.

By Aslihan Bulut.

By Marylin Johnson Raisch.