Foreign Law (Laws of Other Countries)

The Austrian Bundeskanzleramt (Federal Chancellery) maintains BKA/RIS, a free database that contains the federal statutory gazette back to 1848 and links to earlier collections of laws as provided by the Austrian National Library. BKA/RIS also provides a consolidated version of federal laws as currently in effect, legislation of the Länder (states), some translations of federal laws, and some administrative directives and draft legislation.

Laws, government drafts, and amendments.

The Austrian law digitization project. See right side menu for specific laws, gazettes, etc.

World Intellectual Property Organization - search national laws and treaties on intellectual property law.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - database of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources.

International Labour Organization - database of national laws on labor, social security, and related human rights.

Operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP - database of national environmental laws.

Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of Austria. Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.

Contains English translations of Austria's constitution, criminal code, code of criminal procedure, and variety of human rights oriented legislation.

Includes English translations of legal materials in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law.

Decisions of the Verfassungsgerichtshof (VfGH) (Constitutional Court) 1980-present; Verwaltungsgerichtshofes (VwGH) (Administrative Court) 1990-present; selected decisions of the Supreme Court (OGH), the Higher Regional Courts (OLG), the Regional Courts (LG), the District Courts (BG), Supreme Patent and Trademark Senate Decisions (OPMS) and foreign decisions (AUSL); Bundesverwaltungsgericht (BVwG) (Federal Administrative Court) 2014-present; and
Landesverwaltungsgerichte (LVwG) (State Administrative Courts) 2014-present.

Provides links to various fields of law and legal issues, a selection of model contracts and the important recent books. Also includes information in English.

News and financial publications.

Finding guide for foreign statutes by subject and case reporters; references to English translations where available.

Originally published in 2005, updated in 2017.

Library of Congress research guide with links to relevant legislative, executive, and judicial branch databases.

Guide to the official citation of Austrian cases and statutes. Helpful listing of official internet sources.