Foreign Law (Laws of Other Countries)

LII of India at present has 50 databases, including over 300,000 decisions from 37 Courts and Tribunals, Indian national legislation dating back to 1836, over 800 bilateral treaties, law reform reports, and about 500 law journal articles. The LawCite citator tracks case and journal article citations.

The official database of the Legislative Department of the Ministry of Law and Justice. Contains all statutes enacted by the Parliament, central acts, ordinances, regulations, etc.

PDFs in English and/or Hindi.

Contains rules, bills, policies and publications.

Contains debates, legislation, rules, etc.

Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of India. Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.

World Intellectual Property Organization - search national laws and treaties on intellectual property law.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - database of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources.

International Labour Organization - database of national laws on labor, social security, and related human rights.

Operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP - database of national environmental laws.

Links to JUDIS and Indian Courts. Original, appellate and advisory jurisdiction. Its exclusive original jurisdiction extends to any dispute between the Government of India and one or more States or between the Government of India and any State or States. Article 32 of the Constitution gives an extensive original jurisdiction to the Supreme Court in regard to enforcement of Fundamental Rights.

Judgment Information System of the Supreme Court of India: free access to all the judgments of the Supreme Court and certain High Courts, as well as the SCR journal from 1950 to present.

Comprehensive database, including laws, consolidated laws, cases of the federal and high courts, and law journal articles. Also includes cases from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa and West Africa. Login using your NYU email address. To retrieve cases from countries besides India or to retrieve Indian acts and statutes, use the Word Search function.

Contains Supreme Court cases, acts, rules, forms, and sample agreements.

Lex Mundi's Guide to Doing Business in India, Jindal Global Law Review, and extensive news publications.

Finding guide for foreign statutes by subject and case reporters; references to English translations where available.

Originally published in 2008, updated 2014.

Library of Congress research guide with links to relevant legislative, executive, and judicial branch databases.

Guide to the official citation of Indian cases and statutes. Helpful listing of official internet sources.