Foreign Law (Laws of Other Countries)

A collaborative effort by several Stanford centers to better understand China's technology developments by translating and analyzing Chinese sources.

Includes selective coverage, from 1891 to the present, of Chinese & Hong Kong statutes, legislation, and cases. Also includes Chinese & Hong Kong treatises, journals, news, and financial information.

Select treatises only.

World Intellectual Property Organization - search national laws and treaties on intellectual property law.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - database of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources.

International Labour Organization - database of national laws on labor, social security, and related human rights.

Operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP - database of national environmental laws.

Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of China. Separate databases for Chinese Acts, Administrative Rules, Local Regulations, and Regulations. Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.

Also known as Beida fabao, or pkulaw.cn. Chinese laws, regulations and cases in Chinese (Chinalawinfo) and English/Chinese (Lawinfochina). Subscription required, though some content is freely available.

Chinese case law database. Chinese only.

Provides comprehensive statistical data on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels.

Search in English or Chinese. Abstracts and bibliographic citations in English (1994-). Full text available in Chinese via the CAJ Viewer (free download).

Finding guide for foreign statutes by subject and case reporters; references to English translations where available.

Originally published in 2005, updated in 2017.

Library of Congress research guide with links to relevant legislative, executive, and judicial branch databases.

Guide to the official citation of Chinese cases and statutes. Helpful listing of official internet sources.

Provides links to legal resources concerning Mainland China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan, as well as legal research guides and other information related to Chinese legal research.