USD library catalog – www.sandiego.edu/lawcat. You can search for books by title, author, or keyword (if you are not sure of the exact title). Citecheckers should NOT use the "request it" feature online since that takes the book off the shelf while other citecheckers may need it.
Circuit – http://circuit.sdsu.edu/. UCSD, SDSU, USD, San Diego County Libraries, San Diego Public Libraries. If you need a book from the Circuit you can place the Circuit request by clicking on the "Request" button and entering in your USDOne information.
Google Books – http://books.google.com/. Scanned PDF pages of many books are searchable. If no longer protected by copyright, you can see all pages. If under copyright, you can search and see portions of the text.
HeinOnline - https://heinonline-org Includes searchable PDFs of many legal classics
HathiTrust – http://www.hathitrust.org/. Scanned PDF pages of many books. If no longer protected by copyright, you can see all pages. If under copyright, access is limited.
WorldCat – http://www.worldcat.org/. Mega-catalog where you can find a record for almost any book or periodical. If you cannot find it here, there may be an error in the info your author gave you.
ILL request – Log in at https://sandiego.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/lrc/logon.html. See Interlibrary Loan for procedures.
USD library catalog – www.sandiego.edu/lawcat. Search by newspaper title (e.g. Washington Post) and verify the dates of coverage for your newspaper article. You'll want to look for either microform access or a database with PDF images as these are preferred for cite checking.
Website of specific newspaper – Some newspapers maintain online archives, which may or may not be PDF images of the original print source.
Lexis – Search content of specific newspapers or combined news sources. Typically, coverage is post-1994 (varies by title), but Lexis does not provide PDF images of newspaper articles.
ILL request – If the article is not available locally in print, microform, or electronically, you may submit an ILL request. See Interlibrary Loan for procedures. The LRC will not request newspaper articles that are available electronically. Most libraries do not retain print copies and will not lend microform.
USD library catalog – www.sandiego.edu/lawcat. Search for journal title (e.g. Columbia Law Review). The catalog will indicate if we have access to the journal in print, microform, in HeinOnline, Westlaw, Lexis, or another database.
Google Scholar - https://scholar.google.com/. Search by article title. Articles may be PDF or HTML. Front matter can be difficult to obtain.
ILL request – If the article is not available locally in print, microform, or a PDF image of the original source, you may submit an ILL request. See Interlibrary Loan for procedures.
Rule 15: Books, Reports, and other Nonperiodic Materials (authentication required)
Rule 16: Periodical Materials (authentication required)
