Guides: Federal Tax Research: Basic Resources: Additional Resources

Comprehensive Tax Databases

Bloomberg Law: Tax
Built on the foundation of the Tax Management Portfolios, includes access to primary and secondary resources. Bloomberg Law login required.
Thomson Reuters Checkpoint (RIA)
Checkpoint provides access to tax and accounting topics such as: Federal Tax; State & Local Tax; International Tax; Accounting, Auditing, and Corporate Finance; Estate Planning; Payroll; Pension and Benefits. USD only.
VitalLaw: Federal Tax
Authoritative content, expert analysis, practice tools, and current awareness. USD only.
HeinOnline: Taxation & Economic Reform in America
This historical archive contains thousands of volumes and millions of pages of legislative history materials and other documents. Includes the complete Carlton Fox Collection which contains nearly 42 years of historical legislation related to the internal revenue laws from 1909-1950, and more than 100 other legislative histories related to taxation, economic reform, and stimulus plans. USD only.
Lexis+: Tax
Explore 1,400 tax, accounting and estate-practice resources including U.S. tax treaties, Matthew Bender titles, news and analysis. Lexis login required.
Tax Notes
Tax Notes is a collection of publications by Tax Analysts. Includes daily news, analysis, and commentary. USD only; individual login required—for access, please contact the LRC Reference Department.
Westlaw: Practitioner Insights for Tax
Search primary and secondary sources, tax updates on Checkpoint, news and insight from Reuters, plus a variety of tools focused on tax research.

Government Websites

Govinfo
The successor to the the Government Publishing Office’s Federal Digital System (FDsys), Govinfo “provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.” including authenticated copies of the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the U.S. Code (among many other materials).
Joint Committee on Taxation
The Joint Committee on Taxation is a nonpartisan committee of the United States Congress, originally established under the Revenue Act of 1926. The Joint Committee operates with an experienced professional staff of Ph.D economists, attorneys, and accountants, who assist Members of the majority and minority parties in both houses of Congress on tax legislation.
Internal Revenue Service
Official website for the IRS.
United States Department of Justice: Tax
The Tax Division’s mission is to enforce the nation’s tax laws fully, fairly, and consistently, through both criminal and civil litigation, in order to promote voluntary compliance with the tax laws, maintain public confidence in the integrity of the tax system, and promote the sound development of the law.
U.S. Department of the Treasury: Tax Policy
The Office of Tax Policy develops and implements tax policies and programs, reviews regulations and rulings to administer the Internal Revenue Code, negotiates tax treaties, provides economic and legal policy analysis for domestic and international tax policy decisions, and provides estimates for the President's budget, fiscal policy decisions, and cash management decisions.
United States Tax Court
The mission of the United States Tax Court is to provide a national forum to expeditiously resolve disputes between taxpayers and the Internal Revenue Service while carefully considering the merits of each case and ensuring the uniform interpretation of the Internal Revenue Code.

Free Resources

FindLaw for Legal Professionals: Federal Tax
FindLaw's collection of Federal Tax articles, part of the Finance section of the Corporate Counsel Center. Provides access to law articles drafted by tax attorneys.
Hieros Gamos: Taxation Law
Provides a basic overview of tax law, and links to numerous articles.
Legal Information Institute (LII): Cornell: Income Tax Law
Free legal encyclopedia with information on the basics of income tax.
National Tax Association
A leading association of scholars and professionals dedicated to advancing the theory and practice of public finance, including public taxing, spending and borrowing.
Tax Foundation
The Tax Foundation is a leading independent tax policy research organization. Since 1937, their principled research, insightful analysis, and engaged experts have informed smarter tax policy at the federal, state, and local levels.

Print Resources

Ethical Problems in Federal Tax Practice by Bernard Wolfman; Diane M. Ring; Deborah H. Schenk
Call Number: LRC Tax KF6289 .W65 2008
Federal Tax Procedures for Attorneys by W. Patrick Cantrell
Call Number: LRC Tax KF6320 .F43 2008
Tax Procedure and Tax Fraud in a Nutshell by Camilla Watson
Call Number: LRC Tax KF6324 .W37 2016