Bluebook Rule 16 governs articles in sources published on a recurring basis such as law reviews, journals, newspapers, and magazines. In contrast, most materials not published on a regular basis including "books, treatises, reports, white papers, dictionaries, [and] encyclopedias" are governed by Rule 15.
The Bluebook distinguishes between consecutively paginated journals (Rule 16.4) and nonconsecutively paginated journals (Rule 16.5). Journals are consecutively paginated when page numbers continue between issues in a single volume (e.g. issue 1 covers pages 1-249, issue covers pages 250-400, and issue 3 covers pages 401-500). Journals are nonconsecutively paginated when each issue starts counting page numbers from the beginning (e.g. issue 1 has pages 1-249, issue 2 has pages 1-150, and issue 3 has pages 1-99). If it isn't clear from a particular article whether the journal is consecutively paginated or not, you may want to look at articles in another issue.
The LRC and Copley Library provide access to many journals. There are two main methods for finding USD access to journal articles.
The first method is to search for the name of the journal (not the article title) in the LRC's Catalog. If the correct source is present, find whether it is Available Online and select one of the sources under View Online. Links to online sources will always include a proxy prefix so that you can access the source from off-campus.
The second method for locating journal articles is to use Google Scholar. This method does not work for newspaper articles because Google Scholar only searches for scholarly articles. With Google Scholar, you can search for a specific article by title, not for the entire journal, which may make it more difficult to locate the front matter. If you are on campus, Google Scholar should automatically connect you to sources that USD provides access to. If you are off-campus, you will want to set up your library links to include University of San Diego so that Google Scholar will give you links that include USD access.
The LRC and Copley Library also provide access to many newspapers through various subscription databases. Like with journals, one of the best methods of finding newspapers is by searching for the name of the newspaper (not the article title) in the LRC's Catalog. If the correct source is present, find whether it is Available Online and select one of the sources under View Online. Links to online sources will always include a proxy prefix so that you can access the source from off-campus.
While the LRC has tried to ensure all sources from Lexis and Westlaw appear in the catalog, this doesn't always work perfectly. If you don't find the newspaper you're looking for in the catalog, it is worth taking a look to see if it is Lexis' News section or Westlaw's Newspapers section.
Copley Library provides all USD students with access to the New York Times' website. The LRC and Copley Library do not provide access to any other newspaper's website. If you are looking for a newspaper article only published online, not in the print versions available through our databases, please speak with a reference librarian.
