This is the "Treaties" page of the "Foreign & International Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Foreign & International Law  

This guide is intended to help researchers find the most used sources and materials in foreign & international law with a primary focus on electronic research.
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2015 URL: http://lawlibguides.sandiego.edu/content.php?pid=83558 Print Guide RSS Updates

Treaties Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Treaty Research

Even with all the right tools, treaty research can be quite difficult and time consuming. 

For additional guidance please refer to the LRC's Treaty Research Guide or contact a reference librarian at lrcreference@sandiego.edu.

 

Common Abbreviations

Bevans = Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America

I.L.M. = International Legal Materials

L.N.T.S. = League of Nations Treaty Series

T.I.F. = Treaties in Force

T.S. = Treaty Series

T.I.A.S. = Treaties and Other International Acts Series continues the Treaty Series.

U.N.T.S. = United Nations Treaty Series

U.S.T. = United States Treaties and Other International Agreements

Stat. = Statutes at Large

 

What is a Treaty?

A treaty (sometimes called a convention, covenant, protocol, charter, pact, etc.) is an agreement between two or more nations or international organizations.

It may be bilateral (between two countries), or multilateral (between three or more countries). The treaty text may provide for the manner by which it takes effect. Often, the agreement will enter into force when it has been signed and ratified by a certain number of parties.

 

Treaty Collections

Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL): Free online searchable database of international law information with links to relevant primary materials and authoritative web sites.

HeinOnline: The Treaties and Agreements Library includes PDF images of Statutes at Large, U.S.T., T.I.A.S, Bevans, Treaties in Force, and International Legal Materials.  The United Nations Law Collection includes PDF images of U.N.T.S. and L.N.T.S.

U.S. Treaties on Westlaw (USTREATIES): Includes Statutes at Large, U.S.T., T.I.A.S, Bevans, Treaties in Force, and International Legal Materials

U.S. Treaties on LEXIS (INTLAW;USTRTY): Includes Statutes at Large, U.S.T., T.I.A.S, Bevans, Treaties in Force, and International Legal Materials. 

United Nations Treaty Collection: Includes Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General and the United Nations Treaty Series.

 

Treaty Citation

Researchers can start with the convenient list maintained by Mary Rumsey of the University of Minnesota Law Library: Frequently-Cited Treaties and Other International Instruments.

Another useful trick is to search on the name of the agreement in the law review databases of Westlaw or Lexis. There will considerable variation, but it is usually not difficult to pick out the most accurate citation.

For formal citation, please refer to The Bluebook (Rule 21.4) or the ALWD Citation Manual (Rule 21).

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Melissa Fung
Contact Info
Pardee Legal Research Center
(619) 260-4734
Send Email

Instruction & Outreach

Profile Image
Judith Lihosit
Contact Info
University of San Diego Legal Research Center
5998 Alcala Park
San Diego, CA 92110
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip