LRC Resources for 1Ls

The new third edition of Questions & Answers: Contracts contains additional, entirely new questions since the previous edition. Understand better what you're learning in a contracts class by applying concepts as you learn them. Prepare more effectively for exams and the bar exam. This study guide includes 189 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 42 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, Professor Burnham provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Burnham provides a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.

Understanding Contracts is designed for use by first-year law students in their contracts course. The text explains common law principles of contract law using cases and examples that students commonly encounter in this first-year course. It also explains and illustrates Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, which deals with sales of goods that are frequently covered in contracts. It includes material on the United Nations Convention on the International Sale of Goods, and the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts, appropriate to a basic course in contracts and on modern statutes regarding electronic contracting. The fifth edition describes key provisions of the recently adopted Restatement on the Law of Consumer Contracts and includes discussions of recent decisions dealing with consumer arbitration clauses.

Understanding Contracts was written to help law students with what is likely to be one of their most challenging first-year courses. It explains how key concepts apply in several recurring basic fact patterns similar to those students will encounter in the course. It then builds on those fact patterns to explain how the law is more difficult to apply in business transactions with more complex facts. A key feature of Understanding Contracts that is not found in other similar books is its conscious incorporation of basic explanations of the common business practices to which the law of contracts applies. This feature helps students, many of whom have not had any background in the business world, understand contract law in the business settings in which it frequently applies. The book also provides detailed topic headings that students can use to develop their own comprehensive course outline.

This Exam Pro consists of essay questions actually given by Contracts professors throughout the United States. Every question contains a detailed explanation, along with analytical steps explained in easy-to-understand, basic language, and a step-by-step guide on how to analyze each major issue. Both Professor "model" answers and student "actual" answers are provided to allow students to get a feel for all the issues that could have been discussed on some questions, and what is realistic for a student to actually answer under timed conditions. The Preface includes tips on how to take essay exams. A general "List of Issues" covered on each question is provided, so the student can decide whether or not to use a particular question given the course coverage in the student's Contracts class. Similarly, an "Index of Issues" is provided so the student can easily find all the questions that deal with a particular substantive issue which allows for repetitive testing on a troublesome issue. Each answer includes cross-references to the applicable sections of the Restatement (Second) Contracts and the Uniform Commercial Code, and citations to the more important cases in Contracts law, allowing the student to easily match the subject matter of the question to his or her outline and class discussion. Cross-references are included in every answer to relevant portions of Sum & Substance: Quick Review of Contracts, allowing for easy reference if more substantive knowledge is either needed or desired.

In addition to the clear and organized structure of the doctrinal material that one finds in the Acing Series, the Second Edition of Acing Contracts separates discussion of the common law from the Uniform Commercial Code in key areas to allow students to grasp essential concepts more easily. This includes a comprehensive revision to the Chapters on Offer and Acceptance, Consideration, and the Parol Evidence Rule. This edition includes more sample problems with an emphasis on problems dealing with Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. Sample answers are written in IRAC structure ("Issue, Rule, Analysis, Conclusion") to provide students with clear examples to show application of the process to written analysis.

Brain's Exam Pro on Contracts, Objective Questions includes over 330 objective questions covering every substantive area of Contract Law. Each answer choice explains why each answer is either correct or incorrect. Elements and rules are explained in easy-to-understand language, with a step-by-step guide on how to analyze question-types. Liberal citation to applicable sections of the Restatement (Second) Contracts, the Uniform Commercial Code, and important contract law cases, allows the students to match a question to his or her outline and class discussion. Exam preparation tips include how to prepare for graded exams, how professors construct multiple choice questions, and how to avoid common "distracters."

This efficient and exceedingly effective guide to Contracts will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on making the key concepts of contract law, and the relationship among those concepts, easier to understand and retain. The authors have also infused the book with humor, believing there is nothing inconsistent between a rigorous academic experience and having a little fun. Each of the authors is nationally renowned law teacher who has taught Contracts for decades. Based on that experience, in this book they have set forth understandable techniques for mastering the law governing each critical aspect of the contract relationship, including, contract formation (offer and acceptance), enforcement (consideration and defenses), interpretation, performance, breach, and remedies.

This Contracts outline discusses consideration (including promissory estoppel and past consideration), offer and acceptance, interpretation, defenses (including mistake, fraud, duress, unconscionability, the Statute of Frauds, and illegality), third-party beneficiaries, assignment of rights, and delegation of duties. It also covers conditions, substantial performance, material vs. minor breach, anticipatory breach, impossibility, discharge, and remedies (including expectation damages, specific performance, and liquidated damages).

Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area. Black Letter Outline on Contracts, 6th Edition covers everything contract-related--from the ancient roots of the subject (way before the authors were even teaching) through e-commerce and digital contracts. These contracts scholars lead you through every rabbit hole in the subject and always make sure you emerge into the light.

The author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach. The author also discusses damages, avoidance and reformation, third-party beneficiaries, assignments, and the statute of frauds. The discharge of contracts and illegal bargains are also the subject of separate chapters.

Quick Review of Contracts is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and it is designed to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "Big Picture" overview allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.

This edition is cross-referenced with the author’s new Sum and Substance Audio on Contracts.

Recommended in more than 100 schools, the updated seventh edition of Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts is a readable primer that offers first-year law students a reliable overview of the major themes and leading cases in the field of the law of contracts. This contracts primer is straightforward and uncluttered, covering the main themes of the first-year contracts course, together with related cases.

This study of contract law explains concepts clearly and concisely, in an informal, often humorous manner that has contributed to its great popularity with teachers and students over the years. The book covers both the classical cases and doctrine that comprise the foundations of contract law, and also recent cases and developments that have influenced twenty-first century contract law. The book builds on and enhances casebook material and is an excellent source for students to solidify their understanding of the classroom experience. To facilitate reading and understanding the rules and principles, the book includes numerous examples, illustrations, and cross-references. Further, many of the cases cited in the footnotes include short quotations to substantiate assertions made in the text and to help readers who wish to engage in additional research. In short, Principles of Contract Law has proven to be an excellent and reliable aid for teachers and students immersed in the study of contract law.

This Nutshell provides a comprehensive guide to the law of contracts. It contains detailed explanations of contract concepts under both the common law and Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, as well as the basics of restitution law. It also provides an extensive introduction to contracts in the digital age.

In this [audio] series the essentials of contract law are provided in a clear and convenient format. Topics are covered in the sequence of most casebooks and are broken up into tracks so the student can quickly focus on areas which need further explanation without having to listen to material already mastered. Major cases in contract law are analyzed and explained, and numerous hypotheticals for each major topic are provided. Finally, some “tricks” used by professors in class discussion are revealed and discussed, and each major topic ends with an explanation of how to identify and approach that subject on exams.

Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

These electronic flashcards present objective questions on legal topics covered in your law school courses. Helpful explanations accompany correct answers, providing a great way to test your knowledge in black letter law for class and exam preparation.

The Step-by-Step Guide to Contracts is an interactive workbook designed to effectively prepare students to pass exams. The most heavily tested legal rules are presented in a format that mirrors the way they arise as issues in typical testing fact patterns. Rule statements are set out in easy-to-memorize statements, with a breakdown of the element components and logical steps to take to apply new facts to each legal element.

Fluency with the legal terminology is also essential to exam success, so this Step-by-Step Guide includes fill-in-the-blank spaces to help you learn and memorize definitions of key terms as they are introduced, and a glossary of selected terms at the end for further reference.

In addition to learning the law and memorizing key rules and terms, success in law school also requires the hard work of deep learning, engaging with problems to test your own knowledge, and working toward gaining a strong command of all testable topics. To that end, this Guide contains short-answer Test Yourself questions. Working through these questions and then reading the answers and explanations to determine where your understanding is clear and where you must do additional work will help you master the skill of applying the relevant rules to new and different fact patterns. In addition to the short-answer questions, this Guide also includes numerous full-length essay questions with sample answers —providing further practice to test your knowledge and deepen your learning.

With Law School Legends, students get a brilliant law school professor explaining an entire subject in one simple, dynamic lecture. In this audio lecture, Professor David Epstein explains the important contract law concepts, the relationship among those concepts, and how a student can use the concepts to answer any question a professor might ask in class or on the exam.

When it’s exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel®CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers – you will be prepared for your next big test.

The most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines support your class preparation, provide reference for your outline creation, and supply a comprehensive breakdown of topic matter for your entire study process. Created by Steven Emanuel, these course outlines have been relied on by generations of law students. Each title includes both capsule and detailed versions of the critical issues and key topics you must know to master the course. Also included are exam questions with model answers, an alpha-list of cases, and a cross reference table of cases for all of the leading casebooks.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students and often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

New to the Ninth Edition:

New up-to-date cases in every chapter.
Substantially rewritten text for added clarity and accessibility.
New hypothetical illustrations in the text and new or revised examples and explanations.

Thoroughly teaching all legal terrain through which your first-year contracts course will lead you, the Fourth Edition of The Glannon Guide to Contracts will stand by your side as a constant course companion. Its user-friendly style, its stories, its scenarios, and its illustrations, make contract law come alive, turning your course into an adventure of intellectual fun as, meanwhile, you learn the law of first-year contracts--all of it.

Like all Glannon Guides, this book is interactive; it's replete with multiple choice problems--one after another, after another--each one requiring that you take hold of human dealings and events and apply to them the law you've learned, with each problem followed by elaborate analyses as to why--exactly why--the right answers are right, and why--exactly why--the wrong ones are wrong. For the first-year law student, The Glannon Guide to Contracts cuts a clear and lighted path from the first day of class to the final exam.

The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Contract Law lectures, Andrew Schwartz explains the topics Acceptance of the Offer, Communication of Acceptance, Contractual Assent and Objective Test, Excuse Due to Changed Circumstances, Minority Doctrine, Offer, Specific Performance and Injunctions, Termination of the Power of Acceptance, and UCC Battle of the Forms.

The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Contract Law lectures, Andrew Schwartz explains the topics Acceptance of the Offer, Communication of Acceptance, Contractual Assent and Objective Test, Excuse Due to Changed Circumstances, Minority Doctrine, Offer, Specific Performance and Injunctions, Termination of the Power of Acceptance, and UCC Battle of the Forms.

Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.

CALI Lessons are interactive tutorials designed to help law students improve their knowledge of legal concepts through a process of presenting a concept and then immediately testing them on it. Studies have shown that this is one of the most effective way to learn and retain knowledge.

CALI currently has over 1,000 tutorials in over 40 legal subjects. All CALI lessons are written and peer reviewed by faculty at CALI member schools. They can be used for assessment by faculty or for student self-study.

CALI Lessons are absolutely free for students and faculty at CALI member schools to use. However, you must register on the CALI website using USD's authorization code, which is emailed to new students before orientation. Contact the LRC Reference Desk if you need another copy of the CALI authorization code.