LRC Resources for 1Ls

Questions and Answers: Civil Procedure is a supplementary text for use primarily by first-year civil procedure students to obtain a clear understanding of the subject. The book is divided into easy-to-find subject areas so students can pinpoint the questions where they need more review. For students seeking a comprehensive review of civil procedure, the book also includes a sample exam covering a wide array of civil procedure subjects.

This edition of the book builds on the foundation established in the first four editions, by revising and updating the topics covered to include new developments in the law. It also includes coverage of all the civil procedure subject areas covered on the Multistate Bar Examination. Finally, the questions have been updated to use more inclusive language.

This well-established treatise is premised on the assumption that the key to understanding the principles of civil procedure is to know why: why the principles were created and why they are invoked. The treatise is written to answer these questions as it lays out the basic principles of civil procedure. It also reflects the authors' belief that students of civil procedure can understand and appreciate complex principles when they are clearly presented; teaching civil procedure does not require dumbing it down.

The authors use the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as a model, but they also refer to different state rules and doctrines where appropriate in order to present a representative cross-section of state models. Although they discuss important civil procedure cases in the text, thus supporting the most widely used civil procedure casebooks using these same cases, they also provide useful references to secondary sources and illustrative cases for the reader who wants to explore further. Finally, they also treat thoroughly the most recent developments in personal jurisdiction and electronic discovery, among the most dynamic topics in modern procedure.

The resulting treatise will be useful to law students as a supplement to their civil procedure coursework, and to practitioners as a quick reference and refresher to procedural issues that arise in litigation.

This audio lecture covers subject matter jurisdiction, personal jurisdiction, long arm statutes, and constitutional limitations. It also discusses in rem and quasi in rem jurisdiction, service of process, venue, transfer, forum non conviens, removal, waiver, governing law, pleadings, and joinder of claims. Also included are permissive and compulsory joinder of parties, counterclaims and cross-claims, ancillary jurisdiction, impleader, class actions, discovery, pretrial adjudication, summary judgment trial, post trial motions, appeals, res judicata, and collateral estoppel. The lecture references all the newly restyled Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Moving beyond the outline format used by most students, this book uses a checklist format to lead students through the questions they need to ask and answer to fully analyze the legal questions they are trying to resolve. It assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but this book offers a systematic approach to problem solving.

Of the first-year subjects, Civil Procedure is the most foreign to students' experience. This book unlocks Civil Procedure by explaining doctrine and rules and placing them in context - explaining the role of each and how each doctrine relates to the others. It includes a chapter on how law school differs from college and what that means for class- and exam-preparation. It provides concrete analytical frameworks for resolving exam questions. And throughout, scores of examples allow you to apply the law to fact patterns.

Need a little practice with multiple choice questions in federal civil procedure? Your solution has arrived. You MUST buy this book if: A. You are studying for your Bar Exam's MBE multiple choice test, and are more than just a little freaked out by how broadly Civil Procedure can be tested; B. You are in law school, enrolled in a Civil Procedure course, and you are exasperated trying to master the countless nuances of Civil Procedure; C. You want a resource that helps coach you in improving multiple choice exam performance, with strategies, realistic questions, answers, and detailed explanations; D. All of the above. This fourth edition (expanded with new questions, new answers, and new explanations) encompasses material reflecting all Civil Procedure Rule amendments through December 2021, along with applicable new case law through February 2022. This multiple choice practice book is designed for: (a) bar exam takers, who are preparing to take the MBE multiple choice bar exam, and (b) 1L law students, who are preparing to take their course examinations. This practice book offers practical, easy-to-follow advice on multiple choice exam-taking strategies, clear suggestions on effective multiple choice practicing techniques, and a robust set of Civil Procedure multiple choice practice questions with answers and explanations (designed to simulate MBE-style questions). Tables help users decode the tested-topic for each practice question.

The topics discussed in this law-school study outline include territorial (personal) jurisdiction (including venue and forum non conveniens) and subject-matter jurisdiction (covering diversity jurisdiction, federal-question jurisdiction, removal and supplemental jurisdiction). The Summary provides an accessible explanation of the Erie doctrine and federal common law. It introduces contemporary doctrine on pleadings (including counterclaims, crossclaims, amendments and supplemental pleadings) and joinder of parties (including joinder and class actions). Coverage also includes discovery. There is a full chapter addressing summary judgment. Another chapter covers pretrial conferences, settlement-promotion devices, and the increasingly important topic of arbitration. The trial chapter covers the right to jury trial, trial motions, jury instruction and arguments, and post-verdict motions. There are also chapters on appeals and preclusion (both claim and issue preclusion). The Summary begins with an extensive Capsule Summary of all the topics covered, and also includes Review Questions keyed to the outline's coverage, and sample essay questions and answers. Throughout the outline, there are also Exam Tips and charts to summarize and explain the material. Annual update memos will be added on this page when available.

This outline summarizes the black-letter rules of civil procedure. It covers general considerations, litigating step-by-step, authority to adjudicate, complex litigation, governing law, and former adjudication. It allows students to understand how their course materials fit together, doing so by conveying a conception of civil procedure-the relationships among the ideas and the law that constitute the subject. This book is carefully designed and written as a study aid in preparing for classes and as a review aid in studying for examinations, containing all the many special features that characterize the highly successful Black Letter Series of books, such as a glossary and sample examination questions and answers.

The new edition contains five objective exams in civil procedure with a total of 125 objective questions. Each exam consists of 25 objective problems followed by five multiple-choice answers. Each problem is based on recently decided federal district or appellate court decisions. Exam Pro provides the answers and a detailed analysis to enhance understanding of civil procedure. The tear-out answer sheets simulate exam conditions.

This edition reflects the typical course coverage in the now standard four credit-hour, one semester civil procedure course. The exam problems have been updated to reflect recent Supreme Court decisions on civil procedure issues, as well as recent amendments to the Federal Rules that became effective December 2015.

Rules of civil procedure govern everything that happens outside of criminal proceedings. This Nutshell provides a road map to navigating civil procedure rules and helps build a foundation for understanding the overall picture. Topics discussed include: jurisdiction, venue, and other court-selection issues; pleading, discovery, summary judgment, and other pretrial matters; adjudication, judgments, and appeals; multi-party/multi-claim proceedings, including class actions and multidistrict litigation; plus standing, the Erie doctrine, arbitration, and other important procedural issues. The new edition covers all the subjects dealt with in today's civil procedure courses, whether four or five or six hours in length.

Convenient and effective, Sum and Substance Audio Set on Civil Procedure, 8th presents the essentials of civil procedure in a clear, succinct, time-saving format. Includes quick reference indexing, allowing you to quickly locate all topics in the recording, and informed exam tips to help maximize your performance. Sections discuss: clusters of procedure, citizenship, traditional basis of jurisdiction, constitutional principles, illustrative application, federal court jurisdiction, service of process, venue principles, pleading, sanctions, joinder, counterclaims, class actions, discovery, summary judgment, trial, jury trial, posttrial motions, new trial motions, motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict, collateral estoppel, and appeals.

Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

This thorough, full-color, easy-to-follow set of logic maps guides users visually through the structure and nuances of federal civil procedure—including the function and operation of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, personal jurisdiction, federal subject-matter jurisdiction with removal/remand, federal venue, justiciability, the Erie doctrine, and claim and issue preclusion (res judicata and collateral estoppel). Using graphical and color cues, these logic maps provide readers with a linear, methodical orientation to connections between essential concepts in federal civil practice. Supports any civil procedure casebook or coursebook. An invaluable resource for learning federal civil procedure, preparing for a bar exam, or seeking reorientations as a new practitioner.

Designed for students in advanced courses and newly revised, this book explains the leading principles of federal jurisdiction. It covers such landmarks as Marbury v. Madison and Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents and the rules that govern original and appellate jurisdiction, justiciability and abstention, federal habeas corpus, and sovereign immunity. It treats the enemy combatant cases, and the aftermath of Boumediene, and recent Supreme Court decisions on such diverse issues as the legal foundation of the Ex parte Young action and the nationwide injunction, the sharp restriction of the Teague retroactivity doctrine, the curtailment of the Bivens action, the reaffirmation of suits for nominal damages, and the jurisdictional nuances of consumer class action litigation. Perhaps most importantly, the book provides students with a sense of the argumentative possibilities available to lawyers and jurists working within the federal courts' tradition.

Now current up to 2018, the second edition of this one-volume text presents a clear and concise overview of one of the most challenging topics covered in a standard 1L civil procedure course: subject matter jurisdiction of federal courts. Whether you are grappling with the Court's recent Spokeo opinion or the classic Osborn decision, you'll find this book engaging. Written by an award-winning classroom professor, this updated Nutshell makes extensive use of diagrams and flowcharts, while using scores of examples and hypotheticals, to illustrate key concepts. The book is targeted especially to students studying civil procedure, but it will also be of value for students in other courses covering topics such as federal courts, complex litigation, and civil rights. In addition, this volume will provide practitioners with a quick, clear refresher on the basics of federal civil jurisdiction.

This book analyzes legal procedure as part of a complicated interaction between private ordering and public intervention. Modern society brings people together in a variety of settings and injects an active state presence into all manner of everyday activities. Inevitably there are disputes. Yet, these disputes settle all around us, based on social norms or simply an understanding of what is right and what is wrong; what is contestable and what is not. This private ordering of responsibility occurs against a backdrop, sometimes but certainly not always invoked, of what might occur were the matter to be taken to the more costly system of public dispute resolution. In this sense, disputants outside the legal system are said to be bargaining in the shadow of the law. For those who cannot privately order their disputes, there are two public interests. The first is to provide a public resolution such that future similarly situated disputants may be better able to anticipate what are the likely outcomes should they proceed to litigation. The second is to provide finality so that the disputants may get on with their affairs. The central thrust of this book is to examine the overall structure of public dispute resolution through six basic concepts:1. rudimentary fairness and the trade off between equity and efficiency; CHAR(13) + CHAR(10)2. defining the parameters of a dispute in terms of the presentation of issues and the obtaining of information; CHAR(13) + CHAR(10)3. defining the scope of the dispute in terms of parties, particularly as the judicial system confronts increasingly complex litigation; CHAR(13) + CHAR(10)4. defining the power of the courts; CHAR(13) + CHAR(10)5. securing finality; and CHAR(13) + CHAR(10)6. the costs of procedure.

This short book summarizes the law of federal civil procedure. It uses diagrams and charts to provide a fresh look at civil procedure concepts. It will help the first-year law student grasp civil procedure principles, fill gaps in the practitioners' knowledge, and provide a quick-start tool for civil procedure research. The author is a law professor and experienced practitioner who teaches civil procedure at Tulane Law School.

The day has arrived and your name rings out in class. This is it. The cold call. What might your professor ask? Did you understand the case? Did you miss anything important? Are you prepared?

BARBRI & West Academic’s Cold Call Companion provides you with resources to critically analyze and brief a case, distill the main points of law, prepare for the kinds of questions professors may ask in class, and so much more. Included in each Cold Call Companion are:
Animated case brief videos that bring the facts to life;
A written case brief;
Advice for prepping for class discussion;
Contextual materials to offer additional color and background;
Test Yourself questions; and
Carefully curated sets of additional study materials to expand your knowledge of important concepts.

Confidently prepare for and engage in classroom discussion, and easily navigate to the best and more relevant study aids – right when you need them! Cold Call Companion is your essential prep for class.

This Concise Hornbook covers the main points of civil procedure that any student needs to understand, and covers them briefly but thoroughly enough to be understandable. It focuses on the material covered in a typical law school course on civil procedure, tied to no one casebook. It breaks down the subject of civil procedure along the standard lines: a brief orientation; then a lengthier overview of the stages of litigation, followed by a close inspection of the major procedural problems (governing law, authority to adjudicate, former adjudication, and complex litigation); and finally some reflections in conclusion. It discusses specific problems and illustrations, with the aid of generously sprinkled diagrams and special text boxes. Special attention was given to fitting the civil procedure course's main points together to form the big picture, with each topic ending in a section on the "big idea" (separation of powers, vertical federalism, horizontal federalism, full faith and credit, or procedural due process) that the student is supposed to take from the topic.

Gain insight into the laws governing all of the major steps in the civil litigation process, starting with jurisdiction, venue, and ascertaining the governing law, and moving through pleading, joinder, discovery, pretrial management and adjudication, trials, appeals, and the effect and enforcement of judgments. Class actions and other forms of complex, multiparty litigation, as well as Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR), are also covered. This text addresses the major themes underlying the various rules and procedures, and it has continuing utility as a desk book in legal practice and as an entrée into deeper research.

When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.

Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam:

With this ninth edition of Civil Procedure: Examples & Explanations, Joseph Glannon’s uniquely entertaining style teaches and engages students in all aspects of the first-year Civil Procedure course. Accessible introductions and explanations combine with a proven pedagogy in the popular Examples & Explanations format that is effective for learning and applying the fundamental concepts and rules covered in the Civil Procedure course. Examples progress gradually from simple to challenging to build students' confidence. Book includes numerous visual aids, including diagrams, charts, and documents.

Inside Civil Procedure: What Matters and Why, like a great teacher, helps law students understand civil procedure clearly and deeply. Procedural rules and doctrines that at first seem incomprehensible finally make sense when students understand what the rules are trying to do, how they are used in practice, and how they fit into the bigger picture. Unlike oversimplified outlines or lengthy treatises, it actually teaches with clear explanations and features designed to help students master the material. By the end of each chapter, students will have a clear understanding of not only how the rules and doctrines work, but also how the pieces of the puzzle fit together. Overviews set up each topic FAQs give straight answers to questions and clear up common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars offer insights, study tips, and practice pointers. Step-by-step analyses demonstrate how to apply the material. Chapter summaries provide quick review guides. Connections helps students fit the material with other topics in civil procedure.

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions.

Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application.

The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here’s why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom:

It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application.
Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work.
Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.

The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Civil Procedure lectures, Adam Zimmerman gives and Introduction to Civil Procedure and explains Appeal, Offensive Collateral, and Motion for Summary Judgement. Kelly McCracken covers Comparative Jurisdiction, Joinder, and Personal Jurisdiction. Kendall Jones covers Disclosure and Discovery, Erie, and Pleadings.

The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each video is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In this Civil Procedure video, Adam Zimmerman explains the topic of Appeal.

Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.

CALI Lessons are interactive tutorials designed to help law students improve their knowledge of legal concepts through a process of presenting a concept and then immediately testing them on it. Studies have shown that this is one of the most effective way to learn and retain knowledge.

CALI currently has over 1,000 tutorials in over 40 legal subjects. All CALI lessons are written and peer reviewed by faculty at CALI member schools. They can be used for assessment by faculty or for student self-study.

CALI Lessons are absolutely free for students and faculty at CALI member schools to use. However, you must register on the CALI website using USD's authorization code, which is emailed to new students before orientation. Contact the LRC Reference Desk if you need another copy of the CALI authorization code.