Online Study Aids

The questions and answers in this book cover the broad subject of "intellectual property" in a comprehensive way, targeted to an introductory or survey course. All of the major topics in this fascinating area of law are included--namely, trademark, the right of publicity, trade secret, patent, and copyright--and the coverage has been updated with major changes in the law through mid-2019. The key aspects of each of these areas are systematically addressed using the following organization--subject matter and validity, ownership and duration of rights, infringement and remedies, and defenses and limitations.

Copyright law determines what it means to own works of authorship, and it does so by means of a complex federal statute. Questions & Answers: Copyright Law helps students navigate this challenging subject matter with multiple choice, short answer, and final exam essay questions that test both the concepts and substantive law of copyright. The second edition includes over fifty new multiple choice questions, as well as three new practice examinations. These additions reflect the latest developments in this ever-changing field, including the implications of U.S. Supreme Court decisions such as Petrella v. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Kirtsaeng v. John Wiley & Sons, Inc., Golan v. Holder, and American Broadcasting Cos., Inc. v. Aereo, Inc. The questions and practice exams span the varied landscape of copyright, including:
-Requirements for copyright protection;
-Copyrightable subject matter;
-Ownership of copyright;
-Protection of exclusive rights;
-Copyright formalities;
-Length of copyright protection;
-Infringement;
-Fair use and other affirmative defenses;
-Remedies; and
-Enhanced protection for digital materials.

This study guide uses multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students’ knowledge of patent law doctrine. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Q & A: Patent Law also includes a comprehensive topical index

This study guide uses multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students’ knowledge of trademark and unfair competition law doctrine. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Q & A: Trademark and Unfair Competition also includes a comprehensive topical index.

Understanding Intellectual Property Law, Third Edition covers all of the intellectual property areas and issues likely to be addressed in an intellectual property survey course. After a comprehensive Introduction in Chapter 1, the general areas covered in the remaining chapters include: • Patents • Trade Secrets • Copyright • Trademarks, and • Other Intellectual Property Rights such as: • Design Protection • Plant Protection • Semiconductor Chip Protection • False Advertising • Misappropriation • Rights of Publicity • Idea Submission This new edition also includes: • Coverage of major Supreme Court cases in intellectual property from the past decade • Changes made in response to the Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) • Synthesis and reorganization of materials on patentable subject matter • Developments in trade secret law, including adoption of the Uniform Trade Secrets Act (UTSA) • Synthesis and reorganization of materials on copyrightable subject matter • New material on secondary liability, including Grokster, Global-Tech, and the safe harbors and notice-and-takedown provisions for online service providers • Coverage of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, including anti-circumvention and copyright management information • New materials on Internet technology, including streaming, search engines, keyword advertising, domain names, and cybersquatting • Completely revised coverage of trademarks, including the Federal Trademark Dilution Act and the Trademark Dilution Revision Act The eBook versions of this title feature links to Lexis Advance for further legal research options.

The eighth edition of Understanding Copyright is a major revision of this classic student treatise. This edition reflects the substantial developing case law and legislative developments that have taken place since 2019, including an analysis of the eagerly awaited fair use decisions of Google LLC v. Oracle America, Inc. and Andy Warhol Foundation v. Goldsmith, which marked the first time in several decades that the Court has ruled on this "thorniest" issue of copyright law.

Other case law developments are also included, such as the challenges brought about by generative artificial intelligence and other digital technologies. As always, Congress continues to change the face of copyright law, and this edition includes an overview of the Copyright Alternative in Small-Claims Enforcement Act of 2020 (the CASE Act), which establishes a small claims court-type system within the United States Copyright Office.

Patent law is an important, fascinating, and rapidly changing field. This book was written for all who need to understand these recent changes, as well as for students in intellectual property courses. For those engaged in international practice, this work sheds helpful light on the key doctrines and theories underlying U.S. patent law.

More examples and explanatory material, as well as flow charts, have been included in this edition to provide some practical application of abstract or difficult concepts. The most significant areas of updated materials include the rapidly evolving law concerning statutory subject matter, nonobviousness, and the application of the America Invents Act. This work covers the latest U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including SAS Institute v. Iancu, Oil States Energy Services v. Greene's Energy Group, Helsinn Healthcare v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, and WesternGeco v. ION Geophysical Corporation.

The book also covers the major decisions of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Each chapter has been comprehensively updated to reflect those decisions that refine, explain, or modify the existing state of patent law. The Federal Circuit's Thaler opinion regarding artificial intelligence exclusion from inventorship is explained, the World Trade Organization's consideration of the treatment of intellectual property for the COVID-19 vaccines is discussed, and material that explains the European Union's Unitary Patent System has been added to provide real-world examples of the concepts covered in the fourth edition.

This Understanding treatise is a comprehensive and up-to-date guide to the law of trademarks and unfair competition. It provides a thorough introduction to the federal laws protecting registered trademarks and trade dress, as well as the broad array of federal and state unfair competition doctrines which protect unregistered trademarks and trade dress. Coverage includes the standards and procedures for obtaining federal registration, the rights and remedies available to owners of both registered and common law marks under federal and state law, and the full array of applicable defenses.

This study aid uses outline-like checklists to lead law students through the analytical steps necessary to analyze intellectual property issues. The book covers trademark, patent, copyright, and trade secret law. Each chapter begins with a brief review of the important rules and concepts that govern a particular area of intellectual property law. The review material is followed by a checklist that provides students with a clear roadmap for answering intellectual property questions. Each chapter concludes with practice problems and solutions that illustrate how students can use the checklist to analyze intellectual property issues.

Authors emeritus professor Michael Davis and famed Harvard professor Arthur Miller provide authoritative coverage on the foundations of patents, trademarks, and copyright laws. Authoritative treatment of all relevant doctrines and the latest statutory and judicial changes, with up-to-date coverage provided by associate professor of legal research, Dana Neacşu. Text further addresses relevant torts, property, antitrust, regulatory, and federalism intersections with intellectual property law.

The Short and Happy Guide to Copyright is a succinct, enjoyable, and time-friendly text that is designed for you: To get up to speed on the biggest issues of copyright law, and the black letter law addressing those issues; To educate yourself as to your future clients' rights, potential liabilities, and options and opportunities regarding legal problems in copyright. Whether you plan to specialize in copyright or intellectual property, or simply want to be available to your firm or law office as an attorney who can take on a novel problem in an exciting and potentially high-profile and high-dollar-value area of your firm's or office's practice, this book will be useful to you; To provide a vocabulary of legal terms to use when consulting with lawyers, clients, accountants, financial planners, and insurers regarding copyright problems in the creative, entertainment, and scientific fields; To identify existing or potential legal problems in your clients' and your organization's practices. This guide will discuss a variety of areas in which exposure to legal liability or sanctions may present itself as a current or future problem based on your clients' practices and procedures. Don't let the small size fool you! This guide is full of useful information about copyright, but it also is designed to be fun.

This Nutshell provides a succinct description of the fundamentals of U.S. patent law. Ranging from the acquisition of patent rights to their enforcement, it contains an overview of relevant statutes, rules, and cases that collectively define this area of intellectual property law. Topics include claim construction, obviousness, anticipation, written description and enablement, infringement, remedies, and other notable doctrines. Patent law has evolved quickly in the past few years. This Nutshell captures those changes and relates them well to the overall fabric of intellectual property law. This reference is suitable for use by those with a beginner's knowledge of patent law, but it has sufficient depth to be instructive for every practitioner in this exciting and dynamic field.

The new edition of this leading text on patent law is an indispensable tool for both students and practitioners. The authoritative exposition of the law includes thoughtful analysis of the intricacies of the America Invents Act, in-depth discussion of nearly twenty recent Supreme Court decisions on patent law, and thorough treatment of all the leading Federal Circuit precedents. The volume also contains detailed materials on international issues, trade secret law, and specialized topics including plant patents, design patents and the Hatch-Waxman Act. The accessible prose, numerous illustrative examples, and humorous asides make the book user-friendly even for those who lack previous exposure to the field.

This audio book focuses on one of the most vibrant and important areas of the law — Intellectual Property. Intellectual Property offers legal protection for creative efforts by artists, musicians, moviemakers, architects, inventors, advertisers, brand developers, and more. This book surveys the entire field of Intellectual Property — copyrights, patents, trademarks, trade secrets, the right of publicity, and other laws that are relevant to this timely topic. The audio book approaches the central issues in a conversational style, focusing on all of the key questions that are on Intellectual Property exams:
-what is protected and what is not
-who owns the rights
-how the rights may be infringed
-defenses and limits on the rights, and
-remedies for Intellectual Property violations

Trade Secret Law is the first and only book in the Nutshell series to cover trade secret law in depth. It was written as a companion to Cases and Materials on Trade Secret Law by Rowe and Sandeen (the first casebook on trade secret law), but adds more practical advice. Thus, it is a useful resource for attorneys and law students alike. It could be a supplement to a course on trade secret law or an IP survey course that covers trade secret law, as most now do. Like the casebook, it focuses on the predominate state law governing trade secrets in the U.S.: The Uniform Trade Secrets Act (now applicable in 49 of 50 states), as well as the federal Defend Trade Secrets Act of 2016 (DTSA). This Nutshell addresses both international and criminal enforcement of trade secret rights. The Third Edition has been expanded and includes significant legal, legislative, and administrative developments, as well as recent cases applying and interpreting the DTSA.

Intellectual property has helped define our culture, our economy, and our lifestyle. This book provides a comprehensive survey of the entire field of intellectual property, including copyrights, patents, trademarks, trade secrets, unfair competition, and the right of publicity. It is designed to be reader-friendly and is up-to-date through October 2016, including many new important Supreme Court decisions in copyright, patent, and trademark law. It can be a study guide for an intellectual property survey course or used as a useful introduction or refresher for anyone interested in the field. The book focuses primarily on three main federal intellectual property rights – copyrights, patents, and trademarks – along with the new federal trade secret law and important areas of state law protection (such as the right of publicity).

This new volume hits the sweet spot of thorough and thoughtful coverage of trademark law without bogging readers down in minutiae and a blizzard of footnotes. Professors Schechter and Thomas, authors of multiple texts on IP law, have enlivened this volume with crisp prose, clever examples, and touches of humor. Materials on licensing and assignments, online trademark issues, and international topics augment the traditional discussion of trademark acquisition, validity, infringement, and dilution. The book would work well for end-of-semester review or as a supplementary text with, or substitute for, the usual casebook and will serve as a useful reference work for practitioners long after the course is over.

This title provides a clear and thorough exploration of the doctrinal and policy issues in American copyright law. In a style accessible to both students and practitioners, it covers every major topic in basic copyright courses. This new edition, updated through mid-2024, will become an essential resource for students and practitioners.Topics covered:History of the development of authors' rights and of copyrightSubject matter, including original works of authorship and artificial intelligenceOwnership, including works made for hire, transfers of ownership and termination of transfersDuration and FormalitiesExclusive rights, including their transposition to the digital environmentFair use, including the impact of the Supreme Court's decision in Andy Warhol Foundation v. Goldsmith, and the operation of fair use in the digital and AI environmentsSecondary liability, both at common law and as developed through application of the DMCA to Internet service providersEnforcement, including "paracopyright" protections against circumvention of technological protection measures and for copyright management informationFederal preemption of state law, including with respect to mass market "browsewrap" licenses

As its title suggests, this guide offers a broad summary of the law of intellectual property (i.e. patents, copyrights trademarks, trade secrets and a variety of other sui generis forms of protection for innovations and creativity) and the law of unfair competition (i.e. trademark infringement, passing off, trade disparagement, and deceptive advertising). It also touches on related fields of law (i.e. antitrust, consumer protection, regulated industries, and the law governing interference with contractual and noncontractual relations).

Right of Publicity in a Nutshell will orient and acclimate the reader to the structure, public policy, claims, issues, and defenses of right of publicity law that regulates the use of celebrity names, images, and likenesses. The guide will teach you the vocabulary to use when consulting with lawyers, clients, accountants, financial planners, and insurers in the arts, entertainment, and sports fields. The book covers the concept of a right of publicity, the origin and distinctions between privacy and publicity law, the modern right of privacy, the theory and policy supporting the right of publicity, the requirements of a right of publicity action, the post-mortem right of publicity, copyright preemption and the effect of licensing, the federal false endorsement and false designation of origin claims, fair use of celebrity names, images, and likenesses, and the future of the right of publicity.

This text provides a comprehensive treatment of the law of trademark, unfair competition, false advertising, and the right of publicity.

This product offers a compact yet comprehensive and up-to-date overview of U.S. copyright law in an uncluttered and readable format. Coverage ranges from the fundamental concepts of originality, authorship, and infringement to the highly technical rules governing digital phonorecord deliveries and digital public performance rights in sound recordings, the safe harbor provisions that limit the liability of Internet service providers, and the anti-circumvention and copyright management information provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act. This updated edition includes detailed analysis of the changes introduced by the Music Modernization Act of 2018, as well as the creation of the Copyright Claims Board. The evolving doctrines of fair use and contributory liability are also given thorough attention.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Intellectual Property lectures, Laura DeMetrick gives an Introduction to Intellectual Property and covers Acquiring Trademarks Through Use, Benefits of Federal Trademark Registration, Fair Use of Trademarks, Right of Publicity and the First Amendment, and Spectrum of Distinctiveness. Gwendolyn Poindexter covers Dilution, False Advertising, Functionality, Genericness, and Likelihood of Confusion.

The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Intellectual Property lectures, Laura DeMetrick gives an Introduction to Intellectual Property and covers Acquiring Trademarks Through Use, Benefits of Federal Trademark Registration, Fair Use of Trademarks, Right of Publicity and the First Amendment, and Spectrum of Distinctiveness. Gwendolyn Poindexter covers Dilution, False Advertising, Functionality, Genericness, and Likelihood of Confusion.

CALI Lessons are interactive tutorials designed to help law students improve their knowledge of legal concepts through a process of presenting a concept and then immediately testing them on it. Studies have shown that this is one of the most effective way to learn and retain knowledge.

CALI currently has over 1,000 tutorials in over 40 legal subjects. All CALI lessons are written and peer reviewed by faculty at CALI member schools. They can be used for assessment by faculty or for student self-study.

CALI Lessons are absolutely free for students and faculty at CALI member schools to use. However, you must register on the CALI website using USD's authorization code, which is emailed to new students before orientation. Contact the LRC Reference Desk if you need another copy of the CALI authorization code.

CALI Lessons are interactive tutorials designed to help law students improve their knowledge of legal concepts through a process of presenting a concept and then immediately testing them on it. Studies have shown that this is one of the most effective way to learn and retain knowledge.

CALI currently has over 1,000 tutorials in over 40 legal subjects. All CALI lessons are written and peer reviewed by faculty at CALI member schools. They can be used for assessment by faculty or for student self-study.

CALI Lessons are absolutely free for students and faculty at CALI member schools to use. However, you must register on the CALI website using USD's authorization code, which is emailed to new students before orientation. Contact the LRC Reference Desk if you need another copy of the CALI authorization code.

CALI Lessons are interactive tutorials designed to help law students improve their knowledge of legal concepts through a process of presenting a concept and then immediately testing them on it. Studies have shown that this is one of the most effective way to learn and retain knowledge.

CALI currently has over 1,000 tutorials in over 40 legal subjects. All CALI lessons are written and peer reviewed by faculty at CALI member schools. They can be used for assessment by faculty or for student self-study.

CALI Lessons are absolutely free for students and faculty at CALI member schools to use. However, you must register on the CALI website using USD's authorization code, which is emailed to new students before orientation. Contact the LRC Reference Desk if you need another copy of the CALI authorization code.