Online Study Aids

Questions and Answers: Business Associations helps students better understand and develop their mastery of the law of business association in ways that will help them succeed in a standard survey course, prepare for the bar exam, and enter practice. The third edition of this popular supplement updates, clarifies, and builds upon the coverage of earlier chapters, introduces questions focused on the law of agency, and elaborates on distinctions between the Model Business Corporation Act and the Delaware General Corporation Law.

Notably, the revisions of the third edition have been informed by developments announced by the National Conference of Bar Examiners in anticipation of forthcoming revisions to the bar exam. This study guide includes multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam."

For each multiple-choice question, the authors have provided a thorough, yet concise, explanation that both indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, the authors provide a comprehensive, yet brief, model answer. In all, this study guide provides a useful tool for formative assessment and self-evaluation.

The sixth edition of Understanding Corporate Law is designed to assist students by offering a clear and comprehensive treatment of key concepts in corporate law. It is a popular study guide for students and has been used by professors to supplement their casebook or as recommended reading. Significant business, economic, and policy issues are highlighted in connection with a thorough analysis of the important cases, statutory provisions, and jurisprudence used in the study of corporations. It includes major theoretical approaches used in current corporate law literature.

In each chapter, the authors identify important policies and discuss the law as it has developed in relation to those policies. Statutory issues are addressed under both the General Corporation Law of the State of Delaware and the Revised Model Business Corporation Act. In addition, significant sections from the Principles of Corporate Governance of the American Law Institute are covered. The book refers to the corporate scandals of 2001 and 2002, the enactment of the federal Sarbanes-Oxley (2002), Dodd-Frank (2010), JOBS (2012) Acts, and the financial crisis of 2008. The development of ESG (environmental, social and governance) and its impact on corporate governance is covered as is the rise of institutional shareholder ownership and its effect on legal developments. The authors also highlight recent significant cases in each chapter.

“Short and Happy”? This book is indeed “short” - much shorter than any other student guide. The reason is that other student guides are written to help you understand your business associations/organizations course, to get you through 42 or 56 class hours. This student guide is different. It is written to help you understand your prof’s final exam questions – to get you through a 3 or 4 hour exam. Rather than teaching you how cases and concepts are applied in the real world, this book teaches you how cases and concepts need to be applied in the “unreal” world of law school exams. This is the book to read after you have spent the semester working on law review (Or was it clinic? Or client counseling competitions? Or Kundalini yoga? Or shape note singing?) instead of Business Associations.

This book provides a clear and concise explanation of corporations, agency and partnership, and the other subjects addressed in most Business Associations courses. To accompany its explanations, the guide utilizes a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask and issues they need to address, to fully evaluate the agency, partnership or corporations, problems they will face when studying this subject. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and organizes the critical issues, presenting a clear guide to analyze business associations issues that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but this book offers a systematic approach to problem solving.

Exam Pro-Objective on Business Associations is a study aid that helps law students prepare to take their Business Associations exam. Taking the sample objective exams and using the corresponding answers and analysis provides students with a more thorough understanding of Business Associations and a better understanding of how to take exams.

The study of business organizations is, broadly speaking, a study of how people engage in business and, more importantly, how the law facilitates and regulates the operation of such businesses. Written in a clear and informative style, and chock full of examples and illustrations, this book examines the legal rules and doctrines associated with running a business—from formation to dissolution to everything in between. These rules and doctrines are explored within the context of the various organizational forms in which a business may be operated. Thus, reading this book will provide you with a solid grounding in the law of agency, general partnerships, corporations, limited partnerships, limited liability partnerships, and limited liability companies.

Completely revised and updated, conversational in tone, the book summarizes all major forms of business, not simply the corporation. It features numerous examples to illustrate key concepts. Comprehensive yet concise, it addresses the theory of the firm, including the emergence of greater concerns for constituencies other than shareholders, as well as the nuts-and-bolts of corporate law. It offers separate consideration of specialized issues raised in closely-held and public corporations. With updated discussion of recent case law, particularly about controlling shareholders and takeovers, the book offers detailed comparison of Delaware and other leading corporate law legislation. The book also covers relevant federal law, including Sarbanes-Oxley, Rule 10b-5, and Section 16(b). Financial and accounting concepts are explained with helpful examples, so that even sociology majors need not fear them.

This outline clearly examines the full range of issues that arise in classes focused on business organizations. The central distinctions among business forms such as general and limited partnerships, limited liability corporations as well as close and public corporations. Both federal and state statutes that regulate the affairs of corporations are examined. The legal requirements for their formation, operation and management. Also includes shareholders' right to inspect records, shareholders' suits, capitalization, dividends, redemption of shares, fundamental changes in corporate structure, and applicable conflict of laws principles. Contemporary practices and legal provisions addressing corporate governance are described. Special attention is given to the fiduciary obligations of owners and managers as well as the governance rights of shareholders. The materials provide detailed coverage of the federal provisions addressing proxy solicitations, insider trading, disclosure requirements and the scope of the anti-fraud provision Rule 10b-5. The outline provides comprehensive treatment of a wide range of mergers and acquisition issues including the procedural requirements to effect acquisitions, the fiduciary obligations to defend and transfer control, and the intricate case law surrounding self-dealing acquisitions.

With Law School Legends, students preparing for exams get a recognized law school professor explaining an entire subject in one clear, concise lecture. In these audio CDs, Professor David Epstein explains the important business associations concepts, the relationship among those concepts, and how you can use the concepts to answer any question your professor might ask on your exam.

Many students find their Corporation Law class difficult because they do not understand the transactions giving rise to those cases. As with its predecessors, this fourth edition is intended to assist students by not only restating the law but also by putting the law into its business and financial context. The pedagogy is up-to-date, with a strong emphasis on the doctrinal issues taught in today's Corporations classes. The text is highly readable: The style is simple, direct, and reader-friendly. Even when dealing with complicated economic or financial issues, the text seeks to make those issues readily accessible. This new edition brings the material up-to-date with complete coverage of developments in both state corporate law and federal securities law.

Clear, succinct, descriptions of the reasoning and policy issues underlying corporate law that is accessible to law students with no business or economic background. The 2020 edition is thoroughly updated to include recent U.S. Supreme Court, Delaware and other leading decisions and regulatory developments (for example, the most recent version of the Model Business Corporation Act as well as the Delaware statute) that impact the conduct of corporate affairs including fiduciary obligations and duties in corporate transactions, governance, and management of corporations and LLCs, as well as benefit corporations, including the landscape of securities fraud suits in the federal courts, new discussions of unincorporated forms of business, insightful explanations of such news-making issues as corporate governance and director liabilities, and coverage of LLCs and LLPs.

This Black Letter Outline is designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a Corporations Law course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.

This comprehensive guide explains the law of agency, partnership, and limited liability companies, and includes numerous references to the Restatement of the Law Third–Agency and the most recent versions of the partnership and LLC statutes. The authors seek to provide concise and accurate explanations of fundamental principles in these areas of the law as well as useful applications of those principles.

This Hornbook clarifies rather than simply recites corporation law, while paying attention to correcting common misconceptions held among students and attorneys about the subject. This book is also intended for courts and commentators seeking the appropriate resolution of issues of corporation law. It is written in a "user-friendly" style, with citations kept to a minimum. More than just an update, the Third Edition constitutes a significant expansion and refinement of the prior editions. Among the additions are thoughtful expositions on corporate rights, purpose and social responsibility and extended historical and comparative law discussions. There are also expanded and restructured discussions of policy and doctrine in areas ranging from mergers and acquisitions and securities regulation to corporate governance and the duties of directors and controlling shareholders. These enable the reader to both view corporate law in its broad policy framework at one end, while understanding the nuances of Delaware and U.S. Supreme Court decisions at the other.

This audio lecture brings the corporations course to life simply and succinctly. It discusses the nature, attributes, and formation of a corporate entity along with various contingencies. Among the topics examined are rights and powers of corporate directors, officers, and shareholders, including their fiduciary obligations; proxy solicitations under section 14(a); close corporation provisions and agreements; dissolution; fiduciary matters; state regulation of insider trading; short-swing profits under section 16(b); derivative suit litigation; issuance of stock; dividends and other shareholder distributions; and fundamental corporate changes. It includes a close analysis of the federal antifraud provision, section 10(b), and rule 10b-5.

Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.

Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam: ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams. They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable. The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams. The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline--perfect for exam review!

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

Informal and student-friendly, this best-selling study guide - recommended widely by professors in both Business Associations and Corporations courses - provides thematic coverage of the law of business organizations, beginning with agency and partnership law and focusing on corporations. Examples and Explanations for Corporations, Ninth Edition, combines clear text with examples and explanations that allow students to test their understanding of concepts and practice applying the law to real-life fact patterns. New to the Ninth Edition: Updates based on recent corporate statute revisions, including to the Delaware General Corporation Law and the Model Business Corporation Act (revised, 2016) New expanded materials on law of agency, with new examples and explanations focused on sole-proprietorship and agency law concepts tested on bar exams New expanded materials on partnership law, with summaries of cases used in leading casebooks and new examples and explanations on partnership law concepts tested on bar exams Expanded materials on comparisons of LLCs and corporations, including on the growth of LLCs, inspection rights, fiduciary duties, and oppression New materials on "purpose of the corporation," including the recent Business Roundtable statement on corporate purpose and hybrid-purpose benefit corporations New illustrations of flow-through tax treatment, based on recent changes to the Internal Revenue Code and tax rates for individuals and corporations New descriptions of dual-class voting structures, with illustrations of companies such as Google/Alphabet that have adopted such structures Updated description of shareholder activism and recent developments in use of shareholder proposal rule, including emergence of ESG investing and Blackrock's letters to CEOs Updates on regulation of securities offerings, including new exemptions for financial crowdfunding and mini-registrations under Regulation A+ Revised text on new cases claiming lapses in board oversight, including Delaware Supreme Court's decision in Marchand v. Barnhill Revised materials on Supreme Court decisions (including Lorenzo and In re Trulia) affecting the procedure and elements applicable to securities fraud class actions Revised text and examples on tipping liability in insider-trading cases, after Supreme Court's decision in US v. Salman   New materials on recent Delaware M&A cases, including Kahn v. M&F Worldwide Corp. and Corwin v. KKR Financial Holdings, LLC

The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Business Organizations lectures, Elizabeth Pollman covers an introduction to Business Organizations, Corporation Formation, Derivative Suits, Directors, Fiduciary Duties, LLCs. Anne Tucker explains Agency, Business Judgement Rule, Choice of Business Form, Fiduciary Duties, Mergers and Aquisitions, Minority Shareholder Protections.

Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.

CALI Lessons are interactive tutorials designed to help law students improve their knowledge of legal concepts through a process of presenting a concept and then immediately testing them on it. Studies have shown that this is one of the most effective way to learn and retain knowledge.

CALI currently has over 1,000 tutorials in over 40 legal subjects. All CALI lessons are written and peer reviewed by faculty at CALI member schools. They can be used for assessment by faculty or for student self-study.

CALI Lessons are absolutely free for students and faculty at CALI member schools to use. However, you must register on the CALI website using USD's authorization code, which is emailed to new students before orientation. Contact the LRC Reference Desk if you need another copy of the CALI authorization code.

CALI Lessons are interactive tutorials designed to help law students improve their knowledge of legal concepts through a process of presenting a concept and then immediately testing them on it. Studies have shown that this is one of the most effective way to learn and retain knowledge.

CALI currently has over 1,000 tutorials in over 40 legal subjects. All CALI lessons are written and peer reviewed by faculty at CALI member schools. They can be used for assessment by faculty or for student self-study.

CALI Lessons are absolutely free for students and faculty at CALI member schools to use. However, you must register on the CALI website using USD's authorization code, which is emailed to new students before orientation. Contact the LRC Reference Desk if you need another copy of the CALI authorization code.