Online Study Aids

There is no better way to improve your understanding of property law doctrines, concepts, and theories and to evaluate your progress in a course than to engage with rigorous practice exam questions. This updated study guide provides more than 200 multiple-choice, true/false, and short answer questions arranged topically and designed to test your comprehension as you learn. And, there is practice exam with more than 50 questions that covers most of the subjects taught across a semester in the typical property law course. The correct answers to all the book's practice questions are available to compare against your own responses.

Understanding Property Law is a comprehensive and authoritative treatise designed for law students who are taking the standard first-year course on property. It explains the basic principles of property law in the United States and discusses the policy concerns and historical currents that shape this law. The goal of the book is simple: to help students understand property law. It is suitable for use with any casebook.

This book provides complete coverage of all standard topics covered in the basic property course, including landlord-tenant law, adverse possession, rights in personal property, intellectual property, estates and future interests, cotenancies, marital property, sales transactions, mortgages, easements, covenants, servitudes, nuisances, eminent domain, zoning, takings, and other land use issues.

In addition, the book analyzes cutting-edge issues in modern property law, such as rights in human body parts, current takings issues, judicial reactions to the Restatement (Third) of Property: servitudes, rights and duties of homeowners associations, and rights in personal names and likenesses. Its clear writing and detailed organization help students understand both basic concepts and controversial issues. Thousands of law students across the nation have succeeded in their property classes by using this book.

This book takes difficult subject matter and makes it accessible and easy to remember. Professor Paula Franzese, a nationally renowned teacher and scholar, sets forth understandable techniques for mastering estates in land and future interests (including the dreaded rule against perpetuities), concurrent estates, landlord-tenant law, servitudes, land transactions, the recording system, zoning, and eminent domain and includes, in this expanded Third Edition, added treatment of adverse possession, homeowners' associations, common interest communities, future interests, the rule of capture, and the law of finders. Learn from this ten-time recipient of the Professor of the Year Award and become a property connoisseur!

This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses outline-like checklists that are designed to lead students through the analytical steps necessary to evaluate and resolve property issues. Each chapter begins with a review and explanation of the important rules, concepts and principles that govern a particular area of property law. The review material is then synthesized into a checklist. Each chapter concludes with practice problems and solutions that illustrate how students can use the checklist to analyze property issues when writing their exams. Although other study aids may offer summaries of the law and practice questions, none offer the systematic analytical approach represented by the checklists in this book. In addition, the fourth edition includes: Two full-length, four-hour practice essay exams (with model answers) A new Master Checklist for issue-spotting essay questions Updated discussion and Chapter Checklists for new developments in the law New exam tips for regulatory takings and real covenants questions Additional discussion of bailments, co-ownership, servitudes, and real estate transactions Updated cross-references to additional supplemental sources for further reading

Comprehensive outline on Property, including expert explanations of applicable law and practice exam questions.

Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.

The Law of Property provides an incisive and clear summary of the doctrine and theory animating the law of private property. The book is organized around three main themes: acquiring property, dividing property, and limiting rights in property. Specific topics include, the law of capture, creation, adverse possession, estates and future interests, concurrent ownership, marital property, leaseholds, land transfers, recordation, easements, covenants, land use controls, and the Takings Clause, among others. The book synthesizes these diverse topics by highlighting the overarching themes that join them together. It is essential reading for any property student, and can be used in conjunction with any leading property casebook.

This concise work discusses most rules covered in real property casebooks. The text is divided into three sections. Part One provides an overview of property interests by covering lost v. mislaid v. abandoned property, adverse possession, gifts, common law estates, future interests, landlord-tenant law, concurrent ownership, marital property rights, easements, profits, licenses, real covenants, and equitable servitudes. Part Two covers conveyancing, including real estate brokers, contracts of sale, deeds, recording, title insurance, and mortgages. Part Three covers a variety of property rights and liabilities, including airspace, water rights, the right to support, agreed boundaries, fixtures, trespass, nuisance, and land use regulation.

Convenient and effective, Sum and Substance Audio lectures on Real Property, 3rd presents the essentials of real property law in a clear, succinct, time-saving format. It includes exam tips to maximize performance. Among other topics, sections discuss: study techniques, ownership, tenure, seisin, estates in land, future interests, reversion, remainders, title, powers of appointment, tenancy, marital property estates, landlord and tenant, assignment and subletting, easements, profits, licenses, land sales contracts, financing, deeds, covenants of title, estoppel by deed, recording acts, lateral and subjacent support, and public land use control.

Trustworthy and modern source on property laws surveys estates in land—present, future, and concurrent, comparable interests in personalty, landlord and tenant law, and rights against neighbors and other third persons. Also examines easements and profits, running covenants, governmental controls on land use, land contracts, conveyances, titles, and recording systems. Contains footnote citations to leading court decisions for easy location of primary authority.

Cases and statutory law are updated and the material reorganized; conforms with modern law school courses in real property. Chapters open with brief outlines of the law encompassed within, providing an overview of rules in that area. This is followed by a series of factually-based problems designed to generate thoughts about how these rules could be applied in real life situations. Chapters then discuss statements of applicable law and analysis of legal issues raised, plus likely outcomes and current citations of the various laws.

This title is a comprehensive, one-volume introduction to the modern law of real property. Each chapter begins with an overview of rules and concepts, followed by a series of problems and exercises designed to demonstrate how the rules and concepts apply in real situations. Each problem is followed by a comprehensive analysis of the legal issues raised, including citations of the relevant cases and statutes. This edition has been fully updated to reflect current developments.

Comprehensive analysis of property law, convenient for class or exam preparation. Provides clear and concise explanations of legal concepts and terms, along with exam hints, strategies, mnemonics, charts, tables, and study tips. Includes self-testing and diagnostic review questions, and Case Squibs, which are capsule summaries of significant cases identifying important facts, primary issues and relevant law. Provides a Casebook Table, which keys to relevant pages of leading texts, and numerous essay and multiple choice questions with model answers and detailed expalnations. The 10-5-2 Hour Study Guide offers study suggestions in the critical hours before an exam.

This reference guide provides an authoritative summary of personal property that will enhance your ability to distinguish between title and possession. Teaches by example, using a set of readily understandable situations. Also includes the origins of substantive rules of law and procedure.

This five hour Property audio lecture on compact disc includes the rule of capture, the law of finds, adverse possession, gifts, estates in land (fee simple, fee tail, defeasible fees, life estate), future interests, the rule against perpetuities, the joint tenancy, tenancy in common, tenancy by the entirety, rights and duties of co-owners , the leasehold estates and the landlord-tenant relationship. Also explained are easements, licenses, profits, restrictive covenants, equitable servitudes, the purchase and sale of land, recording statutes, land finance, eminent domain and zoning. This lecture also includes a 62 page handout.

Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.

This classic monograph presents a simple, concise and readable text of the history of the English common law scheme of estates in land, including future interests, and the scheme's importation to the United States. The text specially treats the types of interests a person can hold in land today and the associated legal rules that affect those interests. The text is peppered with many review problems to assist the reader in learning the material in the monograph.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.

Emanuel® Law Outlines for Property, Tenth Edition, by Steve Emanuel focuses on those topics that are important in today’s Property courses and includes an abundance of short-answer and multiple-choice questions and answers as well exam tips.

New to the Tenth Edition:

Greatly expanded discussion of the “fair use” defense in copyright law
New and detailed coverage of the prohibition on unreasonable restraints on alienation when land is conveyed
Treatment of “heirs property” and the enactment of the Uniform Partition of Heirs Property Act to redress the unfair impact of judicially supervised partition sales of heirs property (especially rural agricultural land fragmented into small tenancies-in-common as the result of multiple generations of intestate succession)
Expanded coverage of the Fair Housing Act, including (a) the Act’s application to housing discrimination based on the sexual orientation of tenants and (b) the Act’s use in cases involving landlord liability for failing to combat tenant-on-tenant harassment against protected categories of tenants
Coverage of recent Supreme Court cases on the Taking Clause of the Fifth Amendment, including a case on temporary physical occupation and a case on how the “denial of all economically viable use” doctrine is to be applied to scenarios involving multiple adjacent lots.

When it’s exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers – you will be prepared for your next big test.

A concise, clearly written and student-friendly guide, Inside Property Law: What Matters and Why reveals the essential components of property law and how they fit together. An informal, approachable style clearly lays out intricate areas of property law. Abundant pedagogical devices are designed to enhance understanding, including charts and visual aids as well as key terms that are highlighted and defined in the text. Overviews briefly introduce chapter topics within the context of the course and to convey to students why each matters. The straightforward answers to FAQs address common mistakes and misconception, and Chapter Summaries remind students of the key points. Sidebars serve a variety of purposes, such as explaining terminology, offering additional insights, providing study tips, and lending practice pointers. “Connections,” brief sections at the end of each chapter, relate the material across chapters, showing students the interconnected structure of the law’s framework.

The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Property lectures, Paula Franzese gives an Introduction to Property Law and covers the Acquisition of Property, and Estates in Land and Future Interests. Lawrence H. Davidson covers Eminent Domain, Land Finance, Land Transfer, and Public and Private Nuisance. Ray Chao explains Concurrent Estates, Landlord Tenant Law, Servitudes, and Zoning.

The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each video is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Property lectures, Paula Franzese gives an Introduction to Property Law and covers the Acquisition of Property, and Estates in Land and Future Interests. Lawrence H. Davidson covers Eminent Domain, Land Finance, Land Transfer, and Public and Private Nuisance. Ray Chao explains Concurrent Estates, Landlord Tenant Law, Servitudes, and Zoning.

Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.

CALI Lessons are interactive tutorials designed to help law students improve their knowledge of legal concepts through a process of presenting a concept and then immediately testing them on it. Studies have shown that this is one of the most effective way to learn and retain knowledge.

CALI currently has over 1,000 tutorials in over 40 legal subjects. All CALI lessons are written and peer reviewed by faculty at CALI member schools. They can be used for assessment by faculty or for student self-study.

CALI Lessons are absolutely free for students and faculty at CALI member schools to use. However, you must register on the CALI website using USD's authorization code, which is emailed to new students before orientation. Contact the LRC Reference Desk if you need another copy of the CALI authorization code.