Online Study Aids

This popular study guide for an introductory constitutional law course includes approximately 200 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for targeted practice in applying the concepts as the material is covered during the semester, plus an additional two dozen questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." The multiple-choice questions include detailed explanations of the answer and the basis, considering the Supreme Court's past decisions and the Constitution's text and structure, for choosing that response over the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in less than 15 minutes and includes a thoughtful, complete, and concise model answer. The Fourth Edition has been updated throughout, rewriting some topics to account for the new directions already charted by the Supreme Court in recent decisions on separation of powers, substantive due process, equal protection, free speech, and religion, along with highlighting future potential jurisprudential changes based on the Court's recent emphasis on original historical practices.

Understanding Constitutional Law is a succinct but comprehensive treatment of constitutional law topics typically encountered in a first-year constitutional law class. The book provides the current black letter law doctrines alongside the historical background needed to understand them and the major lines of dissenting thought. It explains the methodological approaches the Court has taken to the topics it covers and is interspersed with commentary to help readers understand both those approaches and the rules they generate. Thus, the book is ideal for both students beginning their education in constitutional law and those seeking a deeper understanding. It's also suitable for practitioners seeking a sourcebook to help them analyze the constitutional law issues confronting them.

This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offers the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book.

This efficient book takes the complex subject matter of Constitutional Law and makes it easier to understand and digest. World-renowned Villanova Law Dean and Professor Mark Alexander carefully explains the key concepts involved in Con Law and also brings it home with straightforward explanations of why you are reading and discussing the cases you are assigned every day. The subject matter runs the gamut from Marbury v. Madison and the structural side of the course to Due Process and Equal Protection. In addition, he provides exam-taking tips, and general words of guidance on how to make it through law school, and beyond, to a rewarding legal career.

Barron, Dienes, and Jefferson's Black Letter Outline on Constitutional Law, 11th helps law students succeed in class and on exams. This Black Letter Outline provides an accessible framework for recognizing and understanding the essential principles and issues covered in Constitutional Law courses. The book is a comprehensive study aid for use both when preparing for classes and when reviewing for exams. The authors, experts in the subject matter, provide students a much-needed guide for navigating, organizing, and assessing their own learning.

Sum & Substance Audio Series allows you to assimilate the essentials of the course at your convenience – listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. The Audio provides Quick Reference Indexing, allowing you to quickly locate every topic in the entire recording. Also provided are exam tips to maximize your performance and Lifetime guarantee. These Audios are time saving, convenient and effective.

The topics discussed in this law student study outline are the powers of federal government, including judicial power, powers of Congress, presidential power, foreign affairs power, and intergovernmental immunities. Also included are separation of powers, regulation of foreign commerce, and regulation of interstate commerce. It also covers taxation of interstate and foreign commerce, due process, equal protection, "state action" requirements, freedoms of speech, press, and association, and freedom of religion.

This 11th edition of Constitutional Law in a Nutshell summarizes constitutional law from Marbury v. Madison (1803), to the present. The goal has been to discuss the Supreme Court's cases in enough detail to be helpful but not to be verbose in doing so. This edition includes over thirty new cases. Among the decisions featured in this edition are two highly controversial departures from the Court's precedents. One such case is Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization, 142 S. Ct. 2228 (2022), discussed in Chapter 5, where the Supreme Court reversed Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) and Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania v. Casey, 505 U. S. 833 (1992). The Court held in Dobbs that no right to abortion is implicit in any provision of the Constitution including the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. Justice Breyer, joined by Justices Sotomayor and Kagan, dissented and protested that Roe and Casey had "protected the liberty and equality of women" for half a century.CHAR(13) + CHAR(10)CHAR(13) + CHAR(10)Another controversial decision where the Court departed from precedent was Students for Fair Admissions, Inc. v. President and Fellows of Harvard College and Students for Fair Admissions, Inc. (SFFA) v. University of North Carolina, 143 S. Ct. 2141 (2023), discussed in Chapter 6. The SFFA cases sought to terminate affirmative action in higher education. Chief Justice Roberts held for the Court that the admissions systems used by the two institutions violated the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. The multiple interests advanced by the universities to justify their race-based programs were not sufficiently measurable to be susceptible to judicial review. Justice Sotomayor, joined by Justices Kagan and Jackson, dissented and objected that the majority decision entrenched "racial inequality in education."CHAR(13) + CHAR(10)CHAR(13) + CHAR(10)In this edition as in past editions, where there is a particularly sharp division among the Justices, the position of the dissenters is briefly described. In this edition as in previous ones, discussion of the cases is concise yet sufficiently ample to be meaningful.

United States Constitutional Law guides law students, political science students, and engaged citizens through the complexities of U.S. Supreme Court doctrine--and its relationship to constitutional politics--in key areas ranging from federalism and presidential power to equal protection and substantive due process. Rather than approach constitutional law as a static structure or imagine the Supreme Court as acting in isolation from society, the book elaborates and clarifies key constitutional doctrines while also drawing on scholarship in law and political science that relates the doctrines to large social changes such as industrialization, social movements such as civil rights and second-wave feminism, and institutional tensions between governmental actors. Combining legal analysis with historical narrative and sensitivity to political context, the book provides deeper understanding of how constitutional law arises, functions, and changes in a complex, often-divided society. This second edition documents the profound changes in judge-made constitutional law that have occurred in the five years since the first edition was published."Farber and Siegel have written an excellent introduction to American constitutional law and constitutional theory that emphasizes the continual interactions between constitutional law and constitutional politics. Clear, concise, and judicious, this splendid book will interest professors, lawyers, and students alike."--Jack M. Balkin, Yale Law School"Dan Farber and Neil Siegel have given us a book on constitutional law that takes law seriously while also taking political science and history seriously. Anyone with an interest in constitutional law will find this book accessible and engaging; experts in the field will learn a lot from it. This is a genuinely impressive achievement."--David A. Strauss, University of Chicago Law School

This authoritative text provides a framework for understanding individual liberty and governmental power and the institutional role played by the Supreme Court of the United States. Coverage in this new improved edition includes all the major topics of the subject: judicial review: commerce clause and state powers: federalism: separation of powers: congressional and executive powers: and individual civil rights and civil liberties. Includes diagrams that aid understanding of the fundamentals of our system of government. Extremely accessible and comprehensive — this is a paperback course in American Constitutional Law.

Designed to make the study of constitutional law simple, clear, and convenient, this text provides an overview of constitutional law plus a judicial review, including its limitations. Provides constitutional basis for the exercise of federal judicial power, national legislative power, sources and limitations of congressional power, and the separation of powers. Explores the relationship between branches of federal government, state power to regulate commerce, and constitutional limitations. Examines civil rights, retroactive legislation, procedural and substantive due process, equal protection, and freedom of speech and religion. Also addresses cruel and unusual punishment.

The authors, recognized authorities for over a third of a century, provide succinct and authoritative coverage of the major principles in modern American constitutional law. This book is a shortened version based on the authors' hornbook (popular with students) and their six-volume treatise (popular with judges, practitioners, and scholars). It analyzes the constitutional issues studied today, and discusses the origins of judicial review and federal jurisdiction, federal commerce and spending powers, state powers in light of the dormant Commerce Clause, the war power, freedom of speech and religion, equal protection, due process, and other important individual rights and liberties. This book is completely up to date and includes all major Supreme Court cases through February, 2016, including the ground breaking First Amendment decisions of the Roberts' Court.

Sum & Substance Audio Series allows you to assimilate the essentials of the course at your convenience – listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. The Audio provides Quick Reference Indexing, allowing you to quickly locate every topic in the entire recording. Also provided are exam tips to maximize your performance and Lifetime guarantee. These Audios are time saving, convenient and effective.

Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick. The Glannon Guide to Constitutional Law: Powers and Liberties offers a powerful combination of well-written explanations, multiple-choice questions, and analyses. Brannon P. Denning presents a clear and thoughtful overview of the constitutional doctrines that govern the structure and powers granted in the U.S. Constitution, as well as those that protect individual rights and liberties. Accessible and interactive, the Glannon Guide series pedagogy teaches you to effectively answer exam questions as you review course content.

Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism, Ninth edition,by Christopher N. May, Allan Ides, and Simona Grossi, provides a clearly written, comprehensive examination of constitutional doctrine pertaining to national power and federalism. This problem-oriented study guide provides students and teachers with a highly readable and accessible study of constitutional law. Both this book and its companion volume,¿Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: Individual Rights, combine detailed textual material with real-world examples and explanations that apply the relevant constitutional doctrine to specific fact patterns. The text operates as a readable and citable treatise on the topics covered, and the examples and explanations serve as an elaboration on that text. Its unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy combines textual material with well-written, comprehensive and up-to-date examples, explanations and questions. A favorite among law school students, and often recommended by professors, this guide takes students through the principal doctrines of constitutional law covered in a typical course. New to the Ninth Edition: Inclusion of more than 40 new Supreme Court cases New and updated Examples & Explanations More sophisticated discussion of the federal preemption doctrine Updated treatment of presidential impeachment Expanded discussion of the executive privilege doctrine Deeper coverage of the appointment and removal of federal officials Professors and students will benefit from: Hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis An alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures Straightforward, informal text that is never simplistic, and quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor Adaptability with all major Constitutional Law casebooks Authors with over 70 years of combined experience teaching Constitutional Law

Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: Individual Rights, Ninth edition, by Allan Ides, Christopher N. May, and Simona Grossi, provides a clearly written, comprehensive examination of constitutional doctrine pertaining to individual rights. This problem-oriented study guide provides students and teachers with a highly readable and accessible study of constitutional law. Both this book and its companion volume,¿Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism, combine detailed textual material with real-world examples and explanations that apply the relevant constitutional doctrine to specific fact patterns. The text operates as a readable and citable treatise on the topics covered, and the examples and explanations serve as an elaboration on that text. Its unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy combines clear textual material with well-written, comprehensive and up-to-date examples, explanations, and questions. A favorite among law school students, and often recommended by professors, this guide takes students through the principal doctrines of constitutional law covered in a typical course that includes a study of individual rights. New to the Ninth Edition: Inclusion of nearly 50 new Supreme Court cases Updated Examples & Explanations Expanded discussion of the freedom of association Richer treatment of the right to keep and bear arms Professors and students will benefit from: Hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis An alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures Straightforward, informal text that is never simplistic, and quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor Adaptability with all major Constitutional Law casebooks Authors with over 70 years of combined experience teaching Constitutional Law

With dynamic learning features and visual aids, the Inside Series helps you make the most of your study time, throughout the semester and as you prepare for the final. Unlike heavily abridged treatises, the Inside Series is carefully written in a concise, straightforward style that clearly identifies the essential components of the law and how they fit together. You can quickly learn what is important and why. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics, showing you how each relates to the larger legal framework. FAQs clarify points of law and help you avoid common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars give fascinating additional detail from legal history, policy, famous cases and more. The graphic design supports your visual learning, and features such as bolded key terms, summaries, and Connections help reinforce your understanding while giving you ample opportunity for self-review. Surprisingly concise, visually compelling, the Inside Series is extremely useful throughout the semester to help you identify the essential components of the law and how they fit together. Comprehensive coverage of the essential topics emphasizes what you need to know and why. Clear, straightforward, informal writing explains every topic for you without over-simplifying the concepts. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics, showing you why each matters and how it fits into the larger framework of the law. FAQs clarify points of law and help you avoid common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars enrich the text with fascinating detail from legal history, policy, famous cases and more. Bolded key terms, Connections and summaries reinforce your understanding and give you ample opportunity for self-review. The overall graphical design of the series supports your visual learning.

Jumpstart Constitutional Law: Reading and Understanding Constitutional Law Cases, sheds light on the threshold issues and substantive questions common to all constitutional law cases thus bringing everything into focus for the student. Key to constructing cogent answers on a Constitutional Law exam, Jethro K. Lieberman s straightforward approach teaches students how to spot the issues and respond to the relevant questions in any constitutional law case. Features: Perspective A tour of the American Constitution from a bird s-eye view. Understanding threshold issues: Who may decide constitutional disputes? Under what circumstances may a court decide a case? Must the court take and answer a constitutional question in a property case? Identifying substantive issues: determining the scope of govenmental powers; federalism, and the relationship between federal and state powers; and, constitutional restraints that limit the exercise of governmental power. Interpreting the Constitution: using tests to determin the limits of power and the extent of rights; tools of analysis for interpreting the Constitution; and the role of precedent and change. Training real preparation for taking the Constitutional Law exam: a program for effective studying; sample constitutional law exam questions and answers; and exam-taking strategies.

The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Constitutional Law lectures, Susan Carle explains the topics of Attacking a Procedural Due Process Claim; Preemption versus Dormant Commerce Clause Analysis; Dormant Commerce Clause & Article IV Privileges and Immunities Analysis; the State Action Doctrine and its Exceptions; Identifying the Right Level of Scrutiny for Equal Protection Analysis; Tenth Amendment Analysis Today; Sources of Congressional Power; The Commerce Clause and the 14th Amendment; the Necessary and Proper Clause and the Spending Clause; and Equal Protection, Substantive Due Process, and Procedural Due Process Claims.

The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each video is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In this Constitutional Law video, Susan Carle explains the topic of Attacking a Procedural Due Process Claim.

Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.

CALI Lessons are interactive tutorials designed to help law students improve their knowledge of legal concepts through a process of presenting a concept and then immediately testing them on it. Studies have shown that this is one of the most effective way to learn and retain knowledge.

CALI currently has over 1,000 tutorials in over 40 legal subjects. All CALI lessons are written and peer reviewed by faculty at CALI member schools. They can be used for assessment by faculty or for student self-study.

CALI Lessons are absolutely free for students and faculty at CALI member schools to use. However, you must register on the CALI website using USD's authorization code, which is emailed to new students before orientation. Contact the LRC Reference Desk if you need another copy of the CALI authorization code.