Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New/Featured Books in LRC
A History of Intellectual Property in 50 Objects by
Publication Date: 2019-06-20
What do the Mona Lisa, the light bulb, and a Lego brick have in common? The answer - intellectual property (IP) - may be surprising, because IP laws are all about us, but go mostly unrecognized.
Unequal Profession: Race and Gender in Legal Academia by
Publication Date: 2019-2-5
This book is the first formal, empirical investigation into the law faculty experience using a distinctly intersectional lens, examining both the personal and professional lives of law faculty members.
The Blessings of Liberty by
Publication Date: 2021-11-04
Leading legal scholar John Witte, Jr. explores the role religion played in the development of rights in the Western legal tradition and traces the complex interplay between human rights and religious freedom norms in modern domestic and international law.
Civil Rights Queen by
Publication Date: 2022-01-25
The first major biography of one of our most influential but least known activist lawyers that provides an eye-opening account of the twin struggles for gender equality and civil rights in the 20th Century.
A Lab of One's Own by
Publication Date: 2020-08-04
A riveting memoir-manifesto from the first female director of the National Science Foundation about the entrenched sexism in science, the elaborate detours women have taken to bypass the problem, and how to fix the system.
Principles of International Trade Beyond Trump, Including the World Trade Organization, Technology Transfers, Import/Export/Customs Law, Free Trade by
Publication Date: 2021-03-29
International Trade Beyond Trump commences with coverage of global trade economics, issues, and patterns, focusing particularly on World Trade Organization (WTO) and trade agreements in the disruptive Trump tariff war era, including Trump blockage of WTO dispute settlement. Coverage of customs, imports and exports, foreign corrupt practices, and trade remedy responses to import competition follow.
The War Before the War by
Publication Date: 2018-11-06
For decades after its founding, America was really two nations--one slave, one free. There were many reasons why this composite nation ultimately broke apart, but the fact that enslaved black people repeatedly risked their lives to flee their masters in the South in search of freedom in the North proved that the "united" states was actually a lie.
Queering Law and Order by
Publication Date: 2020-07-22
LGBTQ Communities and the Criminal Justice System examines the state of LGBTQ people within the criminal justice system. Intertwining legal cases, academic research, and popular media, Nadal reviews a wide range of issues--ranging from historical heterosexist and transphobic legislation to police brutality to the prison industrial complex to family law.
ProQuest Trends and Policy: U.S. Immigration This link opens in a new window
This database combines various primary sources to provide in-depth background on a single topic. Primary sources in this database include legislation, executive orders, CRS reports, hearings, GAO reports, data from the annual reports and the Statistical Yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, newspaper articles, and press releases. Resources are organized by topic. Each topic has a brief summary of how the issue has developed over time and a timeline showing important events. There is also an overall timeline covering all of the topics. Topics include concepts, events, legal developments, and countries/geographic regions.
ProQuest Trends and Policy: U.S. Healthcare This link opens in a new window
This database is designed to facilitate the exploration of US government policies in context through the use of topic pages and timelines. In addition to the timelines putting the history of healthcare policy in chronological context and the topic pages explaining complex policy issues, this collection includes all healthcare related public laws and Congressional hearings, legislative and executive branch reports, and carefully curated statistical data series.
De Gruyter University Press Library (trial)
This trial includes access to De Gruyter's University Press Library ebook collection. To access available ebooks from this platform, use the platform's search function, then narrow your results using the filter options in the top left to "All accessible content" or "Open access and free content." Trial expires April 30, 2022.