Foreign Law refers to the domestic law of any country other than the United States.
When researching the law of a foreign nation, it is helpful to begin with a research guide or overview of the legal system.
Use these starting points to find laws, legislative texts, and caselaw of individual countries.
Foreign Law Guide by Thomas H. Reynolds and Arturo A. Flores: For each country there is a brief introduction to the legal system, a list of codifications, gazettes and other sources of law and then a section listing sources of law by subject. This is the best place to start when you are looking for statutes of another country.
Martindale-Hubbell International Law Digest on Lexis: includes brief summaries of the laws of most countries ranging from Argentina to Vietnam, as well as references to selected international conventions.
LLRX Comparative and Foreign Law Guides: A collection of research guides for over 50 countries and regions written by law librarians.
InterAm: Primarily a Latin American law database developed by the National Law Center for InterAmerican Free Trade. InterAm access is limited to USD community members through the LRC Databases page.
Global Legal Information Network (GLIN): Searchable database of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources. Each document is accompanied by a summary in English and links to the full-text if available.
Government Gazettes Online: Provides links to gazettes along with bibliographic information. Published by the University of Michigan School of Information. The Diario Oficial, Mexico’s official daily gazette, includes federal legislation, daily exchange rates, decrees, laws, norms (technical standards), regulations, announcements, concessions and special notices
