This is the "Foreign Law" page of the "Foreign & International Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Foreign & International Law  

This guide is intended to help researchers find the most used sources and materials in foreign & international law with a primary focus on electronic research.
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2015 URL: http://lawlibguides.sandiego.edu/content.php?pid=83558 Print Guide RSS Updates

Foreign Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is Foreign Law?

Foreign Law refers to the domestic law of any country other than the United States

When researching the law of a foreign nation, it is helpful to begin with a research guide or overview of the legal system. 

Use these starting points to find laws, legislative texts, and caselaw of individual countries.

 

Foreign Law - Starting Points

Foreign Law Guide by Thomas H. Reynolds and Arturo A. Flores: For each country there is a brief introduction to the legal system, a list of codifications, gazettes and other sources of law and then a section listing sources of law by subject. This is the best place to start when you are looking for statutes of another country. 

Martindale-Hubbell International Law Digest on Lexis: includes brief summaries of the laws of most countries ranging from Argentina to Vietnam, as well as references to selected international conventions.

LLRX Comparative and Foreign Law Guides: A collection of research guides for over 50 countries and regions written by law librarians.

 

Foreign Law - Laws, Legislative Texts, Gazettes

InterAm: Primarily a Latin American law database developed by the National Law Center for InterAmerican Free Trade. InterAm access is limited to USD community members through the LRC Databases page.

Global Legal Information Network (GLIN): Searchable database of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources.  Each document is accompanied by a summary in English and links to the full-text if available.

Government Gazettes Online: Provides links to gazettes along with bibliographic information. Published by the University of Michigan School of Information.

European Forum of Official Gazettes: Links and information for the Official Gazettes and Legal Gazettes of European countries.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Melissa Fung
Contact Info
Pardee Legal Research Center
(619) 260-4734
Send Email

Instruction & Outreach

Profile Image
Judith Lihosit
Contact Info
University of San Diego Legal Research Center
5998 Alcala Park
San Diego, CA 92110
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip