This is the "ILL Procedures" page of the "LRC Cite-Checking Procedures & Tips" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LRC Cite-Checking Procedures & Tips  

This guide is intended to assist cite-checkers from ILJ, JCEL, and SDLR find and acquire the materials they need to complete their cite-checking assignments.
Last Updated: May 15, 2013 URL: http://lawlibguides.sandiego.edu/citechecker Print Guide RSS Updates

ILL Procedures Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Items the LRC will not ILL

  • Most newspaper articles are difficult if not impossible to obtain in paper, therefore the LRC will not ILL newspaper articles.
  • PDF copies of an item are acceptable for cite-checking purposes. If the PDF of a source is available, the LRC will not ILL the hard copy of it. 
  • Bluebook rules permit citation to both official and unofficial codes. Because citation to unofficial codes is permissible and because of the limited availability of official codes, the LRC's ILL policy is to only request statutes when neither the offcial nor unofficial code volume is available locally.
 

Step 1

The first thing you need to do is check the binders kept at the Reference Desk to see if anyone else has already requested the item you are looking for. Other cite-checkers should also be posting their requests to your journal's TWEN page, but the binders should have the most up-to-date information.

 

Step 2

Check to see if your item is available at USD (Copley Library or the LRC) by checking SALLY, our online catalog.  Also, don't forget that even if we don't carry the print source, we may very well carry it in an electronic format acceptable for cite-checking purposes, or it may even be available on the Web. Below are a sample of useful databases and sites:       

  • HeinOnline: this database contains digital copies (PDFs) of law reviews of U.S. law schools, in addition to treaties & legislative materials.
  • Copley Databases: in addition to the databases that the LRC subscribes to, you also have access to Copley's multi-disciplinary databases, where you can search through abstracts and full-text articles of journals in the area of sociology, psyhology, humanities, science, etc.
  • GPO's FDsys: provides access to several sources of federal law in PDF, including the CFRs, Federal Register, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, etc.).
 

Step 3

Check to see if what you are looking for is available via the Circuit.  The Circuit is a consortium of libraries, which includes USD, UCSD, SDSU, Cal. State San Marcos, and the San Diego County Library System. Circuit requests generally arrive within a couple of business days and are free.  You will need to provide your name and 14 digit barcode (located on the back of your student id) to order items.

 

Step 4

Check the other local libraries such as Thomas Jefferson, Cal. Western, the San Diego County Public Law Library, or the San Diego City Library system.

 

Step 5

Now that you've completed the 4 steps above, you can request an ILL.  Now would also be a time to check with a reference librarian just to confirm your cite and to make sure you haven't missed anything. The cite-checking form is at: https://sandiego.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/lrc/logon.html.

 

Step 6

Let your fellow cite-checkers know when you submit an ILL request by posting to your journal's TWEN page.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip